Brooklyn: A star is born; Saoirse Ronan captivated us all.

I don’t think I have to tell you how beautiful Saoirse Ronan was in the film. And I’m not even talking about her sexy green lacy dress or her charmin’ ayerish accent. Ok so what if I have a crush on her. She was absolutely phenomenal. And it made the film phenomenal. Watching brooklyn made me feel so in tune with her character; Whenever she felt conflicted, or trapped or depressed or hopeful…there I was sitting in my seat shifting about more than I thought I did. She made it so moving,literally. Brooklyn’s themes are easy to grasp. But this isn’t just about a girl who moves from the rural banalities of her irish home to the spangled land of dreams. Brooklyn unifies the traumatic and yet thrilling journey of settling in a foreign land in Ronan’s Ellis. Among all else, Saoirse Ronan’s Ellis shows us how being torn apart by the joys of a newfound life and the nostalgic pull of our native home ‘will make you want to die, but it won’t kill you.’

 

Brooklyn’s story is basically entirely Ellis’. It is shaped through her experiences and shot through her emotions. I just found it so personal, which was a good thing, because this is one epic tale that doesn’t need the clutter and perspectives of other characters to make it better. She didn’t over-act too which gave her time on screen an unadulterated quality. Yeah she was a pitiful sobbing ball of sadness quite a number of times but could you say you didn’t feel it too? Anyways, let’s not get ahead of ourselves here. The film starts off with a pretty bittersweet start as Ellis prepares for her trip to the States. The film doesn’t make a big deal out of her displacement at first, even making light of her nauseating experience on the ship.

brooklyn ship

 

Immediately, you notice that there’s almost always a background soundtrack that accompanies the scenes which makes the movie somewhat more emotional. Sometimes though, I think it makes it less so. But on hindsight, maybe it’s exactly the point. Maybe it’s because Ellis struggles to find a voice amongst the boisterous chatter of her new world; It is through music(like the irish folk song) that she understands her emotions and we, in turn, understand her. John Crowley’s melodic film is a collection of beautiful songs and arrangements from all over the place, you’d be sure I’m going to listen to the film soundtrack once I’m done with this review.

 

Without spoiling the plot, for which you definitely should (No, must) watch to appreciate, Ellis’ time in Brooklyn isn’t the tumultuous experience one would expect. She lives with an elderly landlady and the other inhabitants who are single women as well. Ellis is caught tongue-tied at dinner conversations and doesn’t possess the same wit with words like she had back in Ireland. She feels lost dealing with customers at her new job and homesick whenever she gets a letter from back home. But then Crowley brings somemuch needed warmth to the screen. We’re introduced to Tony who’s taken a liking to Ellis. I’d say that Emory Cohen did a fine job portraying a character who’s presence on screen is soothing and yet magnetic. There’s a chemistry that’s realistic. It isn’t sugar-coated as fear and doubt still show quite readily in both parties. But with every passing moment, you get the feeling that they mean so much more to each other than they realize.

brooklyn beach

A turning point in the movie happens quite abruptly that forces Ellis to go back to her Irish home. Things start going quite quickly from there with one thing happening after another. It’s as if Ellis took a trip back to Ireland just as she found some happiness, only to return to another ‘Brooklyn’. And then she has to deal with her budding relationship with one of the guys from back home and resolve her internal conflicts. Jim (Domhnall Gleeson) develops feelings for Ellis which really starts to complicate Ellis’ situation. Crowley’s decision to originate the conflict from the place she came from creates all sorts of nuances that forces Saoirse Ronan’s character into some very deep introspections. With the promise of newfound happiness with Tony and the traditional enclave of Jim at odds, Saoirse Ronan’s emotional sensitivity captures the painful but uplifting process of dealing with it all.

 

This is a film that has made me live through vicariously like no other. It’s tough to describe something like that. A part of this has to come from Emory Cohen’s unique presence on screen and how Eilis interacts with him. Indeed, Ronan and Cohen bring out the best in each other in both emotional and more subtle moments. But Saoirse Ronan’s the one that ties the whole film together. She herself stated that it mirrors her own experience moving from Ireland to the States.

‘When I was doing the film last year, it was an emotional shift for me. And I felt there was a lot in my own life that was shifting too.’- Saoirse Ronan

Even the scenes that were filmed in Ireland were close to her actual hometown

‘What makes the film even more personal is that the Irish scenes were filmed in Enniscorthy. ‘I grew up 20 minutes away and used to go there to the cinema’- Saoirse Ronan

With such an emotional story that transcends so personally for the main character and that resonates with so many people who move on to other places, Brooklyn is one epic film. Saoirse Ronan makes this film truly her own and one to keep close to your heart.

brooklyn border

Rating: 9/10

 

Images courtesy of Fox Searchlight Pictures

 

 

 

 

 

24 Comments Add yours

  1. elissalynch says:

    I like your review style, JWForeva. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yay! Really?! Yeah I’d love to have my reviews in your digest. Thanks :)) I really appreciate it! Yeah I try to keep reviews real, haha but sometimes as with all writing, it’s abit tough. So you really made my day with that comment haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. elissalynch says:

        Awesome. If you let me know your email we’ll send the details. Thanks šŸ™‚

        Like

      2. elissalynch says:

        Great thanks! Someone should be reaching out to you shorlt if they haven’t already. Let me know!

        Like

      3. jwforeva says:

        Hi Elissa, I tried signing up for it but I didn’t receive a call. Now I can’t use my email to sign up anymore because they said it already exists haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. elissalynch says:

        Sorry for the trouble! Your account is all set now!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. jwforeva says:

        Hi Elissa, I tried signing up for it but I didn’t receive a call. Now I can’t use my email to sign up because they said it already exists haha.

        Like

  2. smilingldsgirl says:

    Great review. I am so thrilled people are responding to this film. I wondered if it was too old fashioned but I think its message of home is something we all know and can relate too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks!! Yeah it totally deserves the hype. Yeah I agree, I guess its old-fashioned but then its themes speak to all of us. Fantastic film.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Saoirse is tremendous, in what is one of the ten best films of the years. An ‘A’ grade from me…and I smell Oscar for Ms. Ronan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Most definitely. She gives a really honest performance, which kind of mirrors her real life as well. Ooo but Brie Larson was exceptional in Room, review coming out soon! I’m happy if either one gets it šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. My review of “Room” will probably be posted sometime in January. Also very impressed with Rooney Mara in “Carol”, also to be posted soon. My “Brooklyn” review has already been posted, and my broadcast version played nationally on radio in 67 cities. A little bit of self-promotion…hope you find time to peruse my reviews. ML

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Sure, I’ll check them out! Yeah I like Rooney Mara too.

        Like

  4. kendunning says:

    Great review. Now I need to see the movie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks! I highly recommend that šŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Thank you for the follow. My main topics are faith, writing, health and nutrition. I love to reblog as you may have noticed. I enjoyed reading your reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jw says:

      I love reading your blog šŸ™‚ Especially your humour and cooking posts. Looking forward to more!!

      Like

  6. Sara McIntyre says:

    Nice Review! I wish I had touched on the music in the film in my review. You made some great points there. I will say that you would benefit from doing some more through editing for some mechanical and grammatical errors but that pretty much goes for anyone who has to edit their own work (myself included). Overall, it’s a very helpful review that anyone who hasn’t seen it will definitely want to watch! I already want to watch it again. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yeah I should spend more time editing šŸ™‚ Glad you liked it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

