Best Actresses of 2015; My Picks

Ooo you excited to see how I picked? Hope you are. In case you missed, here’s my picks for Best Actor. This year’s Best Actress (main) category seems packed with fantastic performances. Unlike the diversity of my picks in the Best Actor category (with two child actors!!), this one deviates less albeit with some you might find less popular. But these were the performances that touched me and left its deepest mark. 6 truly wondrous actresses stole my heart and soul.

As I’ve done previously and will be doing for all my awards, I’ll name it in relation to the scene from one of the nominees which left the deepest impression on me. As it turns out, it’s Emily Blunt’s bloody shower scene in Sicario. So…a bloody shower award? You know what, scrap that πŸ˜› It’s still going to be the Bear Award πŸ™‚ Sounds cool huh and my plushies’s pretty cute as well. From now on, Bear Awards will be the name of my blog’s awards for the various categories. As you can see, it’s already up as its own menu on my site! Next up, Best Supporting Actor.

 

Nominees for the Bear Award:

 

Bel Powley (The Diary Of A Teenage Girl)

Bel Powley’s new nickname should be Bel Power. Why? She lifted the whole movie with her originality and spritey energy. She plays a 15 year old who gets involved in a relationship with her step-father and starts to question and explore her own sexuality. The movie’s a little too sugary, it’s non-judgemental approach didn’t really do it for me. The sexual and coming-of-age issues aren’t things where you can just deflect judgement. But Bel Powley’s portrayal is unlike the film’s avoidance of judgement entirely, she demands us to not judge her before we finish the film. There’s a difference. And that demands our attention.

Diary of a teenage girl bel.png

 

Brie Larson (Room)

Brie Larson? What? Who is she? That would have been my response if you’d ask me who she was before Room. Now, she’s a force to be reckoned with (No, not Rey). With one hugely affecting and emotionally uplifting performance, Brie Larson shines in Room. She was honestly so good, I just couldn’t take my attention off for a moment. The way she portrayed a captive woman, then a captive mom with her son and then the free woman who fights with doubt and fear in the real world, it transcended into the hearts and minds of mothers and children alike.

room brie larson.jpg

 

Carey Mulligan (Far From The Madding Crowd)

It has come to my attention that although this film was screened in the cinemas for a considerable amount of time, few people have watched the film. If they did, somehow Carey’s performance doesn’t attract the buzz or praise she so deserves. It’s a wonderful varied display of masculinity and female empowerment while also showing she can be effeminate and emotional. This tension is Bathsheba’s central struggle that is portrayed in a way that would make Thomas Hardy proud. Here’s my review of the movie.

Carrie Mulligan far from the madding crowd.jpeg

 

Cate Blanchett (Carol)

Her performance was really the only thing I liked about Carol. Nobody needs an introduction to her. She’s probably one of the greatest, if not the greatest working actress in our current age and day. Her Blue Jasmine performance captures the spirit of Blanche in A Streetcar Named Desire which the film is loosely based on; So confused and displaced and yet so passionate and true. Here, she shows why she’s at the absolute top of her game. In Carol, she basically gave the whole story a living and breathing passion. I loved that her character Carol went through the full course of progression and her scenes were always the most powerful. Β Plus the fact that she’s so humble of-screen, she has my full admiration!

Carol cate blanchett 1

 

Emily Blunt (Sicario)

If you’ve been reading my previous posts from my movie review ofΒ SicarioΒ andΒ my thoughts on the Oscar nominations, you’ll know how I was completely mesmerized by Emily Blunt’s acting in Sicario. Just like Carey Mulligan’s Bathsehba, Emily Blunt’s Kate explores the full dichotomy of personality. Her inner fire and self-reliance is constantly being challenged by the more complex and violent nature of Mexico’s drug wars. Her acting was riveting. If there was a saving grace in the deathly land of drugs and killings, it’s the vulnerable Kate which humanizes the film. Emily Blunt, you rock!

Sicario-Emily-Blunt-Blood-Shower

 

Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

See the face of pure “I take none of that shi*” in Saoirse Ronan. It’s kinda symbolic of how her character transforms from being controlled to being at the center of her own empowerment. Her role as Eilis mirrors her own backstory of moving from her hometown in Ireland to the US, which made her acting all the more personal and heartfelt. Her transformative ride from her innocent roots in ol Irish enclave to the daunting cosmopolitan Brooklyn is a ride she pulls you right in along with her. I was completely moved. And I’m sure people who move from place to place will be as well. Here, I raved endlessly about her performance. It’s one of a kind.

brooklyn saoirse ronan

 

 

 

Winner: Brie Larson

Argh, so tough. I liked Saoirse A LOT. SO SO MUCH. But then I watched Room and damn, Brie Larson just edges her. When I saw it, I just knew this was it. It’s a total jump from her usual roles and she went about it like a pro. It wasn’t even acting to be honest. None of it was forced. Everything was so organic and authentic. I’ll just say it now, it’s my favourite acting performance this year. Yeah you go girl! ❀

I think this list was so moving and so powerful, everyone really deserves something.(Haven’t felt that way for previous years) See, even little bear was so moved, gonna be giving loves to everyone!

Bear giving out loves

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. katelon says:

    I loved Far from the Madding Crowd. And I just watched Beast of No Nation based on your blog. Intense movie and performances.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yeah I loved it too! It felt refreshing and yet quite vintage as well. Glad I recommended!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren says:

    LOVED Mulligan in “Far from the Madding Crowd” and was also confused at the lack of recognition that film got. It had some flaws, but her performance was wonderful (and better than several other films I’ve seen that have been getting attention).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks! I KNOW RIGHT! Why? I just don’t get it. Cinematography was beautiful and lush. Loved the forest scene. Acting was superb from both leads. And it was a modern spin without losing its literary significance. I’m so happy that you appreciate the film the same way as I do πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Chloe Lauren says:

    Some good choices there! πŸ™‚ Can I ask you a quick question? How do you get your posts to appear at the top of the list again. I have seen a few people do that somehow. Probably a stupid question, I know!

    Like

    1. jwforeva says:

      Woots! Yeah and even more I didn’t include!! I bet everyone’s list is going to be different cos this year was so great.Oh you mean like at the top of the reader feed? Just convert ur post back to draft then republish at a chosen time πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chloe Lauren says:

        Oh yeah I know what you mean! Oh and thanks! I thought so but wasn’t sure πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Keith says:

    Fabulous list to choose from. I actually had Mulligan on my list but from Suffragette. Now that I’ve see Madding I would swap out those two performances.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Told you she was great! I haven’t watched suffragette though. Best actress seems so stuffed, but that can be said of every other category as well

      Like

  5. Great list! I think Brie is the unanimous winner with everyone this year, and I can’t wait to see her win an Oscar!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Indeed,she totally rocked. It was a perfect performance in my view. Did you like Room?

      Like

      1. I didn’t really like room, unfortunately …

        Like

      2. jwforeva says:

        Was it the simplicity?

        Like

  6. bookboxbykat says:

    Emily Blunt and Cate Blanchett . Oh, my god! I love them! And I really like your picks! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks :)) Oh yeah they rock! But nobody seems to be discussing Emily Blunt’s performance, it’s a shame she’s been overlooked.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. bookboxbykat says:

        I totally agree with you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

