Letter to Myself, Dear Future Me Tag

I was tagged by Chloe from Diary Of A Lonely Girl to do a letter to myself. Chlo, you’re awesome! Thanks for nominating me 🙂

Ok so I was pleasantly surprised when I found out I was tagged. I don’t usually write letters to people, much less to even myself. But I think it’s something really different and I’ll give it a shot

 

Rules:

  • Tag it under ‘DearFutureMeTag’
  • Write a letter to yourself to read again in a years time. You can answer if you would like.
  • Nominate Other Bloggers, as many as you like (at the end of this post)

 

Dear Future Me,

So uh, how do I even begin this. Or rather, how did I begin to write this. Yeah, you finished writing this, so just keep reading…

Ok, first of all, your days in the army are just about over (Yeah I’m saying it in Ving Rhames voice in Pulp Fiction because I just saw it, and am in the middle of doing a review on it…you love blogging don’t forget that…but more on that later!) As I write now, you only have only slightly a little more than a year left of compulsory national service to do. Well, after the serious physical training at first, you’ve gotten a pretty decent vocation that allows you to basically do normal office hours. It’s because of your asthma that recurred during training, so basically the doc said you weren’t fit for combat stuff. But that’s alright. I’m just so happy for you that soon it’ll be over and then university begins!

Well, I hope by the time you read this letter, you’ve figured out exactly what you’ve wanted to do…at least in uni. I did pretty ok for my A’s, so there’s quite a number of options to choose. But, anyhow, I’m super confused right now as to how all this is going to play out. I mean should I choose what I really have passion in? But sadly, that probably won’t get me very far. It’s a tough society here in Singapore, and sadly Arts degrees don’t get you anywhere. Urgh. It’s really really tough…tough to realize and contemplate the fact that my passion in film and literature probably might still have to remain as passions. But, is that really that bad? I mean people don’t do what they love in many instances, AND I’m not trying to discourgage you or anything, just sayin homes 😉 The world can’t get realer, and sometimes you just gotta get real fam. You know something, right now, I used to think and still think that you can’t get fufillment from this weird thing called LIFE is you don’t have a job in the field you love. I’m starting to think that’s not all that true. I mean if you could, I’m sure you want to be a director in film or a famous writer…but if can’t be that or rather if you don’t be that, it doesn’t mean you can’t find fufillment right? But anyhow, I trust you to make the right decision for me. No, actually, it’s for you. As I type the last sentence, I have already become the past. Fading into memories and non-existence. Embrace the future! No matter how scary it might be for a teen like us, I’m sure you’ll figure a way. Because you’re you. And you’re cool. So I have faith 🙂

Yeah, I know, you have thoughts of applying to an overseas U. Maybe the UK. Go forth future me, I wish you all the best. There’s time right now to think, but once you read this, there ain’t much time left. You’ll just have to decide whether you really want to study overseas. More importantly though, you probably still want to move to another country. I know how much I really dislike the life here in Singapore, so yes, always keep the option in your mind. You like to explore the world, and don’t let fear or convention hinder you from that. Never. You have to continue to be your own guy. Of course, that doesn’t mean you start being selfish or self-centered. You still gotta remember to care for the people around you…but that’s going to be something more difficult if you eventually do decide to move for good. But anyhow, it’s a general thought. Could happen in 5 years? 10 years? Who knows? But no rush, if there’s one thing that I’ve learnt, it’s that sometimes you can’t plan to be happy, you just be. So play it by ear, and live each day with enthusiasm and just let it ride. But of course, don’t forget to plan. And know what’s really important to you.

See, i’ve spent so much time writing about me…or you, well shi* this is confusing. Haha, but hey, it’s something new ain’t it. And you wouldn’t be writing this letter if it weren’t for your friends you’ve made through blogging, so continue to be grateful! You love blogging and this is what makes you so SO happy. So never forget that and never stop blogging and reviewing movies. Because that’s really one of your passions 😉 And never give up on playing tennis when you have the time too! I’m sure you won’t, cos you’ve been playing it your WHOLE LIFE, since you were five!! Continue reading your books as well, and of course, I hope your french is going to be better than mine. Self-learning isn’t easy, but hey your good with linguistics. And always remember nothing’s too tough to overcome.

I hope you’re a better person now, in fact I’m just gonna say it now boldly, I’m proud of what you’ve become. And continue to become a better person, so when you next write a letter, the person reading your letter will be the future future you who’s going to be even prouder and happier because he never stopped trying.

From Jia Wei

Cya soon!

 

Nominations (Yeah, I love all of you bloggers, oh man I hope I didn’t leave out anyone,wow, haha that took a long time, but hey I’m happy to nominate all you guys who’ve been so supportive of my blog. Don’t know when I’ll get another chance like this so I’m just gonna put as many names as I want to HAHA. I truly am sorry if I forgot to put your name down. I promise I’ll get to you when something like this crops up again!!) :

The Laurenest

Keith & The Movies

Vook: Vook + Video Games

cinematiccoffee

Bubbles and Beebots

A Maple Girl

Jessica Davidson

Claudia’s Thoughts

emmakwall

Cinema Parrot Disco

Digital Shortbread

Written In Blood

Reviewing All 54 Disney Animated Films And More

Back To The Viewer

vinnieh

Nola Film Vibes

Ana Slanina

Freckhled

Fast Film Reviews

Reel Red Reviews

Empower And Balance

Film Grimoire

unbolt

Vrushali

Watch and Whirl

deaconsden

Prince Charming Isn’t Here

Consumed By Film

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

30 Comments Add yours

  1. Chloe Lauren says:

    This is great! Thanks for saying I am awesome 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      That’s cuz you are! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chloe Lauren says:

        Aww thanks! Awesome is like my favourite word so good choice haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. vrushali21 says:

    Thanks for the nomination! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for doing my tag 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Haha 🙂 Thanks for creating the tag!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the nomination, JW! I kind of already did this on my blog, only in reverse. It’s a letter to your 16 year old self with advice or whatever you want to say. Here’s the link: http://jessicadavidson.co.uk/2013/11/02/note-to-self/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Cool! Can’t wait to see what you wrote 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. katelon says:

    Loved reading your letter to your future self. Please hold on to your dreams! Dreams can come true.

    Thanks for the nomination!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks!! You too! We can never give up on our dreams.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. John Charet says:

    A truly great post 🙂 Keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      😀 I really appreciate that!

      Like

  7. emmakwall says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination 🙂

    And congrats on yours! Wow your letter was great, you come across such a nice guy. Your future self should be proud! It was very inspiring as well. I agree you don’t need to be in your dream job for fulfilment. Just having my blog cheers me up, even if I’m not a ‘real’ writer. Sometimes other things about a job are important but you must always follow your instincts 🙂

    I liked Ving Rhames’ voice by the way! 🙂

    And don’t give up the tennis! :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hehe no prob! HAHA I try to be one, don’t we all? Yeah I’m starting to feel like there can be other things in life that give you fufilment. That’s nice 🙂 It’s sometimes the simplest and the small things that really matter. I’m still trying to work out what it is exactly that I want to do in life (more specifically career wise). But thank you for the advice and inspiring words, I’ll remember that 😊
      Oh I’ll never give up tennis, I love it so much! Hobby-wise, when I’m not watching movies or reviewing them, I’m hitting the courts!

      “I want a nig** in a rice bowl waiting to pop a cap in his ass” 😂 Marsellus Wallace stayin’ classy since ’94

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emmakwall says:

        Haha, stayin’ classy since ’94 🙂 that made me laugh! I have no doubt whatever you do, you’ll excel in. Just make sure you’re happy!!! 🙂

        Your blog is excellent, maybe writing is a path you could continue on?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Hopefully 🙂 Thanks, that really made my day! Haha nah,I don’t know if I write well enough though. But I will keep my options open! What about you,have you considered writing yourself?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. emmakwall says:

        Well I think you do 🙂

        Yeah I’ve thought about it, but I’m not good enough nor do I have enough drive. I tend to be a bit lazy sometimes lol 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. jwforeva says:

        Oh Ems check out my new review on Taxi Tehran!! Would love to know your thoughts!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. emmakwall says:

        I will do, thanks! And I will do my letter to my future self soon too, I know I should tell myself not to worry so much!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. jwforeva says:

        Don’t worry! But its easier said than done…just gotta let tmr worry about itself 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. emmakwall says:

        You’re right 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. jemimajuice says:

    Hey, loving your writing and blog, I’m kind of new to the wordpress scene and would love to make some connections with other writers, despite how dissimilar our content may seem! Maybe give some of my blog a read and see if it’s up your street? Would be great to connect https://jemimajuice.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hey!! Thanks 🙂 You just made my day 😊 I’ll definitely check your blog out!! Cool, after all making new friends is the most fun part about blogging.

      Like

  9. Raney Simmon says:

    Wow, I just saw that you nominated me for this. Talk about arriving to the party late, lol. I’ll definitely be doing this for my next blog post then as long as I don’t finish my book tomorrow. But if not, it’ll definitely come after my book review. Have written letters to myself though before in school so this’ll definitely be interesting since I don’t know what I’ll end up saying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hahaha its okay! It’s never too late 🙂 Hehe that’s the fun part,I didn’t know how to go about but I’m sure you’ll find it quite meaningful 🙂

      Like

  10. table9mutant says:

    Oh, thank you very much for the nomination! This is a cool idea. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

