Movies watched in January and update on what’s coming in Feb.

Hey guys πŸ™‚ Hope ya’ll have been doing well. Feb’s coming and it’s really an exciting period. I’ve watched some movies here and there so here’s a run-down on what’s coming!

Movie Reviews – I’ve watched a couple of movies and I LOVED all of them. I’m glad I picked them. Firstly, The Man From UncleΒ was pretty awesome. It’s a little cliche in storyline, but its quirks are pretty cool. I liked that it employed certain techniques that we hardly see and used them to great comic and dramatic effect.Β I was browsing through movie titles one night, uh you know after that long day sometimes you just don’t want to watch that serious Oscar nominated film or that dark art-house that makes you question everything you know…Sometimes!…I just wanna have fun! So I scrolled and scrolled until I saw ‘animated film’.’Wes Anderson’. That was it. I was sold. As it turned out, Fantastic Mr.Fox was not only super enjoyable, it had many profound points to make. Without second thought, this has got to be up there with Inside Out and Anomalisa as my favs. So many good movies I watched, more below!

I did fall asleep during Missisippi Grind. Anti…waitforitbecausethenextwordisclimax. πŸ˜› Yeah, so this was the only one I didn’t like. But I fell asleep, so I can’t really say I didn’t like it. I was simply bored. And tired. It’s a poker/gambling film starring Ryan Reynolds and Ben Mendelsohn. Oh boy was this movie a chore.

shih tzu 1

 

Oh look, a random picture of my neighbour’s (they live a few blocks down, but its the same estate) shih tzus! Β I’ve only got close to them last November because believe it or not, before that point, I was afraid of dogs. Yeah I find it hard to believe that one single fear was almost transformed…like i woke up one morning and my soul decided “Okay, scrap that 19 year old fear. Gonna touch a dog right now” Nowadays, I always make it a point to take them out for walks πŸ™‚ The caretaker, or an equivalent of a nanny in the states, spends the most time with the dogs. Ok some cultural info here, in Singapore, it’s a practice that most/some families get maids from Indonesia, Phillipines etc to take care of cleaning, cooking, children especially if the parents/adults are busy. They live in the house as well. But anyways, she walks the dogs everyday and I usually join in. I like walking Bacon! These little cuties always brighten up my day. I mean, just look at how adorable they are πŸ˜€ The left whitish cream one is a girl (Grease) while the right one is a boy (Bacon). Bacon’s more sociable and Grease less so because she’s seen her previous shih tzu mate Scruffy pass on. From what I gather, yeah that’s right Dr.House right here, it seems like she hasn’t gotten over it completely. Poor doggie, hope she lets it go and finds peace. But Attha,the maid, treats them so lovingly which is great.

 

So where was I? Oh yeah right, movies. Did I tell you I watched my first Blindspot film a few days ago and it’s probably the best movie I’ve ever seen? Not even kidding. It used to be Inception or Her. This one gives the same vibe of pure awesomeness. Boom. Guess you’ll just have to wait for the review……….keepin the suspense real.

I also watched Mulholland Drive. How does one even begin to write a review on it. I have only one word right now. Mindblown. But I liked it, I’m just not sure whether it’s more of a satire of L.A/Hollywood or a piece on the human psyche. So many interpretations….Why David Lynch. Why you gotta do this brah.

I also watched Bridge Of Spies which totally surprised me. I thought it’ll be some formulaic period piece…it actually kinda was…but it was so good. Spielberg rarely disappoints. Tom Hanks was also outstanding.

In other news, I’m going out with a friend this saturday and we’re catching Taxi Tehran. I only recently came across a place which had a theater specially catered to art-house, foreign, indie and lesser know films. It’s a rare gem. Dammit, why hadn’t I known of it earlier?!?

And finally, I’ll be posting my Bear Awards (my personal nominations and winner for the year) for the remaining categories in the lead up to oscar night. The ones left are Best Supporting Actress, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Documentary, Best Song, and a combined post for all the technical/sound/editing awards.

I realized I haven’t written much poetry which I actually really like to do. I’ll see if I can squeeze in something! Or flash fiction. Or something different from movie-related stuff.

See ya soon! Ciao!

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. John Charet says:

    Great blog post πŸ™‚ I am glad you were able to get over your fear of dogs as well which I did not know you had a fear until reading this post πŸ™‚ As for your views regarding Mulholland Drive, it is not so much a satire as it is your second guess, which is a mystery thriller in the De Palma/Hitchcock vein. Speaking of Spielberg, I am looking forward to seeing The BFG, when it opens in America in July πŸ™‚ You can youtube the trailer If you want to know what it is about. I am also glad that you love Taxi Tehran πŸ™‚ I read your reply that you left for me and I am going to respond to it right now πŸ™‚ Anyway, keep up the great work as always πŸ™‚

    P.S. speaking of your Bear Awards nominations, I left a reply under your nominations for Best Supporting Actor πŸ™‚ Go check it out when you have the time πŸ™‚ Once again, keep up the great work as always πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Woo! Yeah, I was so afraid previously. I actually had a weird morbid fear that they would eat me. Yeah, psycho right? HAHAHA. Now I really love dogs and animals in general as well. Oh I haven’t seen Taxi, but I’ve booked to watch it tmr! Urgh Mulholland Drive was so suspenseful but also quite confusing. I felt that some scenes didn’t really make sense. I see, I guess it could be both…but yeah it’s freaky in a way that can only be described as “Lynchian”. There’s probably already such a term right given his style. Thanks for taking the time to read my posts ;o

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ValentinaHay says:

    I have been in a dilemma about Bridge Of Spies since weeks. But now I think I might watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I know that feeling, had it myself too. It must be the poster right, it doesn’t look appealing at all! But the movie’s suprisingly pretty good

      Like

      1. ValentinaHay says:

        Exactly. It is like a poster of Epic Doom. The bad kind. I am going to watch it soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

