Kleptomaniac in Society; A Poem

I have something that steals

not from you but from me

People don’t understand my mind

why should i be surprised

 

Others think i’m a beast

born in the forest trees

Conceived by two ogres’

birthed the curse of society

 

They only know that i take

why i forage, they never ask

I wish to explain myself

and say it’s not my chosen pulse

 

This shot of crack I do not know

sends shivers to my fingertips

A reflex of the mind’s ebb and flow

one feeling i cannot control

 

Outpour the tirade of words

and lashing’s come like a flock of birds

How i wish to unchain myself

and be free from this hell

 

One day I saw a guy

said he’s nice and won’t lie

First told me that I could strive

then said I was a waste of life

 

I cried and cried on the street

and then a woman came discreet

Gave me a hug and a sweet treat

And removed my problem with her heat

 

I no longer steal for my other

It has long since been gone and under

But to all the people out here

You can help by being kinder

 

I felt that for my third poem I wanted to do something different than my first two. This one doesn’t rhyme all the time ( rhymed ;0) and features a topic which I’ve always felt was quite interesting and yet often misunderstood. The poem tells of a kleptomaniac’s feelings of society’s judgement. I’m no Klepto myself, but I think this is what he/she might be thinking sometimes.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. vosays says:

    I love this! Poetry doesn’t have to be perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks! Agreed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John Charet says:

    Great poem 🙂 Do not worry, me and neither of your fans of this site think you are a klepto 🙂 This is all in all a fantastic poem, but what really moved me was when you described how the woman character saw your character in the poem crying and gave you a hug and a treat 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks John 😀 Haha nono I didn’t mean it that way, I just thought it’s a condition that has never really been discussed so I wanted to shed light on it without judging it in a condescending way. Glad it touched you :))

      Like

Leave a Reply

