Deadpool review; Break the fourth wall

If Batman is the hero that we need but not the one we deserve, then Deadpool’s certainly the hero we don’t need but the one that we all want to enjoy. Wait that came out a little wrong. But whatever, Deadpool’s all about awkwardly hilarious moments. For a long time, Marvel has skirted along the fringes of trying to be light-hearted while maintaining a certain level of seriousness, just enough to become ‘wordly’ and important. Some people like The Avenger’s but I thought it was droll and weak. Trying to find middle-ground simply doesn’t work. Aside from the usual stuff, Guardians Of the Galaxy worked because it was more focused on it’s own story. It was humourous and characters actually felt real; They were unfamiliar characters that left some of the most lasting and emotional connections. Avenger’s:Age Of Ultron? Nah, it didn’t leave me feeling anything. Deadpool is another success, albeit with more imprudence and unrestrained violence, humour, sex and jokes. Simply put, he doesn’t give a shi*. Deadpool is on a quest for vengeance. He’s foul-mouthed. He lives by the notion that the ends justifies the means. He’s a cunning linguist (pun intended) and constantly breaks the fourth wall to engage the audience, making us all indulge in the ludicrous and over-the-top shenanigans. Deadpool esssentially challenges the traditional ideal of the superhero – Anti-establishment, rock-star like, Donald Trump in effect and an ass-kicking motherfuc**** rebel.

deadpool picture

 

Fourth wall break inside of a fourth wall break? That’s like… 16 walls!

Deadpool tries hard to separate itself from what we usually consider a superhero and what constitutes as a superhero movie. Whether is has succeeded or not, is subjective. Sometimes excessive and other times utterly original, I consider Deadpool an overall success. I still think X-Men:Days Of Future Past/Origins is the best because I like how it weaves in large themes and explores the complexities of alienation and morality. Deadpool completely discards these issues like fluff. Instead, we get a guy who puts a bullet through heads like it’s a test of accuracy and provides witty ripostes like second-nature; Self-serving and indulgent. It’s not bad though because it provides a refreshing alternative voice to what we normally see and plays to our fantasies of having a ‘no strings attached’ kind of vigilante. Even Batman’s bound by his conscience, Deadpool however, is only bound by his own rules.

I’m not going to spoil anything else because the trailer basically spoiled quite a fair bit. I think the overwhelming hype might actually have done the film a slight disservice in terms of enjoyment although I still loved it. The marketing team behind the film did a fantastic job going all the way in creating a unified brand behind Deadpool. Having such a shameless projection with taglines like ‘Smart-ass, Bad-ass, Great-ass’ and catchphrases charged with sexual innuendo like ‘Wait till you get a load of me’ is bold. The film totally lived up to its reputation. Credit has to be given to the writing team that comes up with moments that can feel so random and so hilarious at the same time. Reference to pop culture and current fads and trends makes Deadpool the hip and sass that makes him distinctly himself. There isn’t another parallel to what Ryan Reynold’s has created and it’s certainly a welcome change to the plethora of altruistic, goody and flawless flying goons whose problems we can’t relate to. Deadpool’s conception stems from something that’s real and even his struggles are also grounded to his personal life which is messed up, but it’s a kind of messed up that we can relate to better.

If I ever decide to become a crime-fighting shit swizzler, who rooms with a bunch of other little whiners at Neverland Mansion with some creepy, old, bald, Heaven’s Gate-looking motherfucker… on that day, I’ll send your shiny, happy ass a friend request!

In the end, the film isn’t meant to be taken seriously. It’s a crackpot full of jokes just tettering on the edge of boiling into full-blown madness. Maybe it already has, who knows? I knew I was simply having a ball of a time watching Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool; He IS Deadpool. Granted, some others could have done it too. But now Reynolds is imprinted into my mind as Pool, Dead 😉 Such is the power a film can create where it’s character becomes the actor and the two become inseparable. If there is one thing Marvel can learn from this, it’s that they do best when making hearty and/or humourous movies like Guardians and Ant-man or just go full rebel like Deadpool. It doesn’t do well trying to be a little funny and a little serious like in The Avenger’s and eventually fail at being anything. I hope to see more of Deadpool in all it’s unabashed self-conscious style; Other than breaking the rules of the game, Deadpool has broken new ground into the very idea of a superhero.

See what I mean?

Deadpool im touching myself tonight.gif

Rating: 8/10

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. John Charet says:

    I enjoyed this too 🙂 I would give it * * * 1/2 out of * * * * stars. Sure, it probably would have been a complete masterpiece If Paul Verhoeven had directed it (he was the man who directed the 1987 version of Robocop and 1997’s Starship Troopers), but this is still vastly entertaining and probably my favorite Marvel film of the decade (no joke) 🙂 Keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Nice! Glad you liked it so much as well. Hmm really? I haven’t seen the robocop movies, so I can’t say but I will have to someday! Yup it certainly was the most emtertaining for me as well. The only thing though was the story and climax, I felt that it wasn’t really the most impactful nor affecting. But this movie wasn’t meant to be judged deeply anyway, it was simply a ball of fun and that’s it. You really made my day!! 🙂

      Like

  2. erinb9 says:

    Haha, I just saw this film a couple of days ago! It was my husband’s pick and I didn’t have a clue what it was even about except my husband was giggling like a schoolgirl in anticipation.

    I’m nominating it for the #1 Most Guy Movie Ever 🙂

    I had the feeling its writers took their jokes straight into the kind of raunchy territory that wasn’t allowed in Avengers. Filled with gross innuendo but still incredibly sentimental. Lots of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hehe 🙂 It was so much fun woo!! Glad you guys liked it too. Hahah Deadpool is kinda like the free spirited guy who doesn’t give a damn about anything.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This movie made me LOVE Ryan Reynolds…because I found him slightly annoying before. But, like you said, he IS Deadpool!! Such a great movie…I really loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I was indifferent towards him mainly because he didn’t star in anything particularly good or striking. Maybe I haven’t seen enough of his films. Anyhow, this one changed my perception of him completely. Such a joy to watch!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Raney Simmon says:

    I think it really looks like an interesting film. Superhero movies have never really been my thing, so to speak, but I feel interested in this film because it looks humorous. Not sure my family would be interested in checking it out, but I definitely am intrigued by it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

