Best Visuals,Editing,Sounds and all the fun stuff of 2015; My Picks

This is a fun post!! Unlike the other ones which I analysed quite in-depth, I really enjoyed coming up with the nominees and show ya’ll the different sounds and gifs that made an impact on me. Now that we’re done with all the major categories, it’s time to do a post of all the other awards from editing to visuals to sounds. I’m going to rush to watch (yes I am! I’ve done all that I needed to do and this weekend’s gonna be dedicated to rushing Oscar-nom films and giving my predictions in another post. Might even review some movies as well !!) Stay tuned! But anyways, this post is dedicated to the unsung heroes of a film and I hope to spotlight its importance with this post. So let’s get to it.

If you’re interested and are new to the Bear Awards (just a name for my own picks for the best of the year in film), check out who I picked for nominees and winners for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Director, Best Cinematographer and Best Screenplays. Best Documentary will be coming up just before the Oscars and will mark the end of my blog’s awards. My Top 10 films of the year can be found here.

Best Song:

The Peanuts Movie; Better When I’m Dancin’ by Meghan Trainor – Winner

I love this category so so SOOOOO much. And that’s why it’s the first to be mentioned. I always believe music can be the core of a film and can lift it to become something uniquely special with just the right tempo, rhythm and tune. Finding one that suits your film is a tough job and falls on the hands of artists who seem to make it sound (pun!) so easy. These five songs blew me away because it made the scene perfect in every way. This one by Meghan Trainor immediately stole my heart <3. What a lovely song for a big-hearted movie.

Have a listen to the rest, I promise you won’t be disappointed. If you don’t even look at the rest of my post (But please do!! 🙂 ), at least take some time to enjoy the beauty in the music here below. Each one produces a unique feeling, so have a go!

Inside Out; Bundle Of Joy by Michael Giacchino

Spotlight; Spotlight by Howard Shore

The Revenant; Hawk Punished by Ryuichi Sakamoto

Ex Machina; Skin by Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow

 

Best Visuals:

The Revenant – Winner

The corporeal experience in The Revenant is simply unlike anything ever seen  experienced before. Yes, The Revenant takes something visual and turns it into something that can be felt. From Lubezki’s pov styled shots like going in and out of the freezing lake to mist his camera or the angle shifting shots of Leo riding a horse down a cliff, the raw and beautiful visuals cannot be further elaborated. It must be experienced.

the revenant snow.gif

MacBeth

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Duke Of Burgundy

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

 

 

 

Best Film Editing:

Mad Max:Fury Road – Winner 

The fuckkk?! Just look at this and tell me is this isn’t the craziest motherfuckin thing you’ve seen. I’d given this movie a 7/10 and I didn’t particularly think it was anything great, but Mad Max is clearing tearin it up on the dancefloor here, it’s juts showing off really?!?!?

Again, Mad Max has no match. I liked the other nominees and I really can’t claim to love Mad Max, but the editing of action scenes that look so chaotic and preposterous into something visually breathtaking and somehow coherent…that’s crazy right there. The camera work is also so great and just putting all the pieces together requires skill that’s of a different kind.

For me, since The Revenant was purely natural, it deserved the visuals award for that raw experience. So Mad Max takes the editing award because it was able to effectively use various methods to create tons of moments like this.

mmfr-money-shot-c.gif

Spotlight

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

The Duke Of Burgundy

The Revenant

 

Best Costume and Make-Up and Hairstyling:

Mad Max:Fury Road – Winner

Ragged. Dirty. Smouldered. Charcoaled. Survivor. I didn’t expect to be won over by how the characters looked but the more I looked, the more I appreciated. Wouldn’t you say this perfectly captures the post-world/scarce resource/desert wasteland kind of feel?

Mad Max costume.png

The Revenant

Far From The Madding Crowd (would have won but I liked Mad Max’s inventiveness more)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

 

 

Best Sound Production:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Winner

star wars kylo ren

With so many categories, it’s hard to tell some apart from others. Sound Production is a category I created for the audial quality of the film and how it blends in well with all the aspects like background noise, dialogue, sound mixing etc. It’s a tough fight between the Big Three again, and I feel a little bad that Star Wars has been getting the least love out of the three. This is the only category where is just ousts the two goliaths because it’s the one that stuck with me the most. Beasts and Ex Machina make a rare transcendence into the fray. Star Wars gets the award because of all it’s unique and iconic sounds haha 🙂 like BB8’s cute mechanical oinks 😉

Beasts Of No Nation

Ex Machina

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Revenant

 

Best Film Score (The same nominees from Best Song. Not a coincidnece. These soundtracks were fantastic and helped lift its film to a completely different plane!) But it’s a different winner this time!:

Spotlight by Howard Shore – Winner

Every and I really mean every one of the soundtracks here sound so amazing. It’s all very subtle but the piano notes and acoustics vary quite alot between each one. Each one has a tale to tell whether it’s about hypocrisy or expose, damning truth or an undying sense of justice – Spotlight’s soundtracks hits home just as hard as the film itself.

 

Ex Machina – Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow

Inside Out – Michael Giachianno

The Peanuts Movie by Meghan Trainor

The Revenant by Ryuichi Sakamoto

 

Best Film Set (actual and/or CGI):

The Revenant – Winner

the revenant skulls

Nothing beats the natural wilderness. No CGI. Everything’s natural. Just fathom that for a moment and you’ll realize that it’s a huge risk the crew took to capture some of the most beautiful scenes under the harshest conditions with the most limited time especially when daylight is scarce. Woo hoo, it seems like The Revenant and Mad Max are pretty neck-in-neck for technical awards, I’ve already lost count of who’s won more.

Anomalisa

Mad Max:Fury Road

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

 

Recap of winners:

The Revenant (best visuals, best film set)

Mad Max:Fury Road (best editing, best costume/make-up/hairstyling)

Spotlight (best soundtrack)

The Peanuts Movie (best song)

Star Wars:The Force Awakens (best sound production)

 

What do you think? Who impressed you the most?

 

Little Bear shows ya’ll what real effects are. ‘See? I’m hugging the eiffel tower?! Noone’s done it before!  That’s counted as visual effects right?’ With such a cute little bear, who could BEAR to say no? “I hope you like my picks!! Cya next time!”

Bear effects eiffel tower

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Keith says:

    Great stuff! Hard for me to fault any of your choices. As excited as I was for it, I never anticipated Mad Max would be in so many awards conversations! I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks Keith!! Neither did I, and at first I was still quite skeptical. But it’s a wonder in art. I don’t really get the oscar picks for songs this year though, even if none of my choices were picked, there’s still a load of others which are so amazing.

      Like

  2. Awesome post! You just made me wanna watch Mad Max again. Think I might do that this weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. katelon says:

    Thanks for the song clips. I’ve enjoyed your whole awards series. I’m looking forward to the Oscars on Sunday and the beautiful gowns.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Charet says:

    In my opinion, I would give all or most of the technical prizes to Mad Max: Fury Road and If you read my recent post on my site about the Oscars, you will probably recognize that view 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

