Oscars Thoughts: What A Night

Michael Keaton is indeed Birdman personified.

Just like his alter-ego superhuman id in Birdman, Michael Keaton’s riding a resurgence wave. He’s now been in two consecutive best pictures, Birdman and Spotlight, so who really is going to doubt his come-back story. I’m looking forward to seeing him in his future roles! He’s da comeback king! Wouldn’t it be cool if he actually played a superhero and break all notions of an ageing actor. I’d like to see that!

LEO FINALLY WON THAT OSCAR

Check out his amazing speech here if you haven’t already.

 

And this gif pretty much sums it up. It’s all good now.

๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ž๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ž ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย ๐Ÿ˜Œ

leo finally won.gif

If you’re well versed in Leo’s filmography, you’ll know he was superb in many other previous roles like in Catch Me If You Can, The Departed, Shutter Island, The Wolf Of Wall Street, Inception…Anyone could really be THE one performance people would declare ‘HE WAS ROBBED!!’ Through his passion and down-to-earth attitude, he’s won over both a huge following of fans like us and from his peers. Basically he’s a really likeable guy whose always been snubbed at the Oscars. So when he finally won 2 days ago, I’d imagine many would’ve reacted like me as I screamed and probably disturbed neighbours a block away. *Inner fanboy erupting with joy Heeee*

Inarritu the maestro, but they tried to cut him off.

Alejandro Inarritu’s directorial win is a resounding note of his brilliance. Love him for his ingenuity or loathe him for his self-indulgent and overwrought style, he proves he’s at the very top of his game. One point of note is how the music began to play even before Inarritu had finished his 45 seconds (It probably happened for the others too but this one seemed rather quick). It’s quite disappointing really how you have one guy giving a speech about the importance of diversity and here you have producers trying to end his speech just as he was making an important point.

โ€œTo really liberate ourself from all prejudice and this tribal thinking and make sure for once and forever that the color of skin becomes as irrelevant as the length of our hair.โ€

I have the utmost respect for this man as a director but more importantly as a person.

Beautiful Brie โค

From her performance to her hugging Jacob Tremblay to the royal blue dress she was wearing, Brie Larson was just…

๐Ÿ˜

 

Jacob Tremblay and Abraham Attah rock the stage! But they should have been nominees too.

Too cute. Look how happy they are! And that buffer stand is a nice touch. But really, they should be in contention for the acting awards instead of just being there as a faux pas way of showing ‘Hey see? We have kids on stage. So don’t blame the academy for not being inclusive.’ Don’t go down that ageist path please.

 

Louis CK presents Documentary short feature, but not without reminding us of a stinging truth

His speech really screams the truth and nothing else. Well he was funny too, but I reserved most of my laughter because it really was so hard hitting. He basically showed how people who make documentaries are really doing it for their passion and drive in bringing an important issue into light. ‘They don’t get rich’ unlike the many others in attendance, which really hammers home the point that making films is more often a difficult passion to sustain and not something glamourous as many perceive it to be.

Chris rock; Pretty funny at times but also quite repetitive

We get that #OscarsSoWhite is a big thing. But his whole monologue, in fact his whole night was spent on this topic. It got lame after a while. He hit a couple of important points on both sides like

‘It’s not fair that Will Smith was this good in ‘Concussion and didn’t get nominated. It’s also not fair that Will was paid $20 million for ‘Wild Wild West! ย and

‘Jada boycotting the Oscars is like me boycotting Rihanna’s panties.ย I wasn’t invited!ย It’s not an invitation I would turn down,’ Rock quipped.

HAHA! But then he perpetuated racial stereotypes by bringing three clueless asian children on stage and said they were his accountants and later said they made our phones too. Now I’m asian myself and although I’m quite indifferent towards it, the thing that bothers me is that it’s quite an ‘off’ joke. No relation whatsoever, it wasn’t even satire because it was too random. Seemed like Chris Rock hit a wrong note there.

Mad Max tears up the stage

6 Awards!!!! And I was right Ha! I predicted correctly,well mostly, that they would shower Mad Max with love for the technical and visual awards. Decent movie imo. But it’s fantastic to look at and marvel. Fans of the movie should be really happy.

 

Ex machina’s dark horse win

But Mad Max did lose Best Visual Effects to one Ex Machina. I was squeling in my seat heehehe :))) Some of you might know that I’m a huge fan of the movie for it’s literary complexity and powerful themes, so I was a little bummed that it didn’t win Best Original Screenplay. But then it won Best Visuals. The world is fair huh. Alicia Vikander’s CGI AI body was the main contributor no doubt, and I really didn’t think it was enough to win it, but hey, the team behind the CGI must be so overjoyed right now so who cares whether it’s expected or not!

 

Snubs

Yeah the inevitable snubs. Sylvester Stallone is the most notable one. I didn’t find Mark Rylance impressive at all. The vigour and sincerity in Rocky should have beaten Rylance’s subtle act. But this “snub” category is more prominent when looking at those who weren’t even nominated. In my opinion, from Idris Elba to Steve Carell to Mya Taylor to Jacob Tremblay, Abraham Attah and more that others will point out, the Oscars is proof that big backers, big names and big money will likely still matter the most when it comes to awards season.

 

And finally why I’m happier that Spotlight won Best Picture even though I was rooting for The Revenant.

All in all, it was pretty decent. No Oscars night can ever be perfect. And since I really look forward to it, and it only comes once a year, I really don’t wanna be complainin’ about everything like some people who just criticize the show in every aspect possible. I think most of the winners deserved the win albeit some suprises and shocks. And I’m especially happy, contrary to popular sentiment, to watch the lesser known categories. I’m happy to see people who work tirelessly in the back room editing sounds or sketching costume designs for that futuristic darwinian world, or that writer who’s pulling all nighters to get that closing dialogue just right…I like seeing the unsung heroes of a film get recognized on the big stage.

And finally, I’m glad Spotlight won. I didn’t find the film super good (8.5/10) but felt its message was important. It’s wasn’t artistic so I didn’t go ‘Hmm this is my kind of movie’, but I knew this spoke the truth and was exactly everyone’s kind of movie. Everyone should watch it and be moved by the power of true journalism. As I’ve said before, Spotlight isn’t flashy pizzazy. It didn’t judge; But it revealed. I didn’t jump out of my seat screaming like when Leo won. But I was silently happy that the most important film of the year will finally get even more recognition and bring about more awareness about sexual abuse by religious institutions. Kudos to the real Spotlight team for bringing justice.

I don’t know about you, but clearly Michael Keaton’s overjoyed ๐Ÿ™‚ I mean, who wouldn’t be just to be part of something so meaningful. ‘Fuck yeah!’

 

michael keaton fuck yeah.gif

 

 

 

 

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew says:

    Great breakdown, and I pretty much agree with every point. LOVE the DiCaprio gif. Ex Mechina was a superb choice and such an awesome win! Tremblay and Attah should have both been nominated…IN LEAD…where they were better than any of the actual nominees…and I loved Leo and was so happy he won…but, yeah…those two gave the best performances of the year, period. So glad they presented together.

    Like

  2. emmakwall says:

    Awesome, awesome right up Jia! I love this post!! I’ve had the whole Oscars experience thanks to you ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I LOVE that gif of Michael Keaton, go Michael Keaton! And of course I was super pleased to see Leo FINALLY get recognised (The Departed will always be the one for me that he really was robbed off, his performance in that film was amazingly good.)

    I thought his speech was brilliant too, he always comes across a nice guy.

    From what I’ve heard Spotlight was a deserving winner and Brie Larson in Room. I was very pleased that Ennio Morricone won with his Hateful Eight score too (quite rightfully so!)

    And as for the snubs….well you know how I feel about that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great write up friend!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I’m so glad you like my post Emma!! ๐Ÿ˜Š
      Wolf of wall street and Inception won me over, what an actor he is! Have you watched the original, Infernal Affairs? I actually preferred that to The departed, it’s still good nonetheless.
      Yup! I was hoping she would bring Jacob tremblay onto stage as well hahas. I liked Spotlight’s score the best, but I have to give my respect to Morricone, he’s 80+ and still hustling.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emmakwall says:

        He was brilliant in both of those too! And Catch Me If You Can. And actually Django Unchained too – he was BRILLIANT in that! I just loved him in The Departed so much, he was such a broken man on the edge and displayed it so well, vulnerable and kind too. It was one of my favourite ‘bits of acting’ ever.

        I’ve seen Infernal Affairs yes, it was good but I way prefer The Departed. Maybe because I watched it first, but I love the music and I love the actors. It’s not the first US remake I’ve preferred to the original foreign movie – but mostly I prefer the originals ๐Ÿ™‚

        Morricone deserves everything!! Absolute legend.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Just gotta love the guy, I can’t think of a bad role. Yeah, I really liked how he had to resolve this duplicity inside of him, and constantly remind himself he’s the good guy.
        I’m not too familiar with Morricone, what other movies has he composed for?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. emmakwall says:

        Oh my god so many!! He’s most famous for his spaghetti western soundtracks, he worked on all of Sergio Leone’s movies with him ๐Ÿ™‚ like you know the really famous score from The Good, the Bad and the Ugly? That was Ennio Morricone, but he’s done absolutely LOADS of film scores, westerns and non-westerns. I think he did the score for The Thing for instance (John Carpenter’s). He’s also composed just regular classic music, you know not for movies ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      4. jwforeva says:

        Oh wow, now its my turn to say I’m a philistine. I had no clue!! Thanks for sharing, I really need to go and listen to him now. I knew he was good,but not this good?!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. emmakwall says:

        Not at all!!!!! Don’t you say that silly ๐Ÿ™‚ you know loads more than me about movies, I just enjoy film music and have been a fan of Morricone for a while.

        My two favourite tracks from The Good, the Bad and the Ugly are: ‘The Ecstasy of Gold’ and ‘The Trio’ – maybe you’ll enjoy those?! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  3. Keith says:

    Great rundown of a really fun night. I feel as if I would be repeating myself by stating all of the areas where we agree. So happy for the winners although (like you) I really didn’t care for the Rylance win. I liked the performance but I don’t think anyone will be talking about that film down the road. Stallone, Hardy, and the snubbed Elba and del Toro were much more memorable.

    Was thrilled with Son of Saul’s win but was frustrated at The Look of Silence’s loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks man!! I liked your thoughts on the oscars as well! Uh huh,Del Toro rocked. Tom Hardy wasn’t that impressive for me but oh wells,at least we agree mostly. I really liked Winter On Fire,it was the only uplifting docu amongst them all,and had a really current and universal perspective. Son of saul! Yes, thats on my to-watch list.

      Like

  4. katelon says:

    I just got through watching “Ex Machina”. What an amazing movie. I did not see that ending coming….but I’m a romantic ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved Alicia’s dress at the oscars.

    I agree that Tremblay should have been nominated for supporting and Attah for lead actor. But of course I felt that Indris Elba’s performance was amazing, too.

    I was excited to see Spotlight win due to its topic. Michael Keaton never went anywhere, he continued making great movies all along …the one about Baghdad, and Merry Gentleman, one he directed as well as played the lead. But yes, he is getting more attention lately.

    It is interesting to see you state that you felt like the Oscars dwelt too much on the lack of diversity as I felt, too, that although it is a worthy cause, and am glad that so many winners, Chris and others made the point, that it seemed like it took over too many of the skits and Chris’s dialogue. Yet I read another blog, that blasted Chris, and the Oscars, stating that they just made jokes of the situation and supported stereotyping in all the various skits and inserts that focused on the lack of diversity issue and felt like they should have given much more attention to the issue.

    I felt like the entire production gave wonderful focus to not only the need for more diversity but also spotlighting the Catholic child sexual abuse, rape, and sexual abuse in society, LGBT issues, etc. I felt like it showed a society finally growing up and being accountable and inclusive. I had a glow from the show.

    But I understand everyone has a different opinion. I LOVED Cate Blanchett’s dress and I watched a clip that panned her dress.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. John Charet says:

    Interesting thoughts ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a post on my blog about what I thought of Sunday night’s Oscar show on my site ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep up the great work as always ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Hely N. says:

    Haha! The Leo gif is brilliant! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Noice! Glad you liked it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. vinnieh says:

    I love that gif of Michael Keaton.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Cool ๐Ÿ™‚ That is the look of true happiness LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. vinnieh says:

        Pure elation.

        Like

  8. Mark Hobin says:

    What I loved…

    โ€ข Leo won an Oscar
    โ€ข Mad Max: Fury Road won 6
    โ€ข Chris Rockโ€™s opening monologue
    โ€ข Alejandro G. Iรฑรกrritu becomes the 3rd director to win twice in a row
    โ€ข Emmanuel โ€œChivoโ€ Lubezki wins 3 times in a row for cinematograpghy โ€“ thatโ€™s NEVER happened
    โ€ข Spotlight (which I loved) becomes a Best Picture winner with 2 total awards โ€“ a record that has stood since The Greatest Show on Earth won with just 2 at the 1953 ceremony.

    I’d rate the overall ceremony as a C-. Great recap. Agree with your points.

    P.S. Love the animated Leo gif. Hadn’t seen that one untl now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks Mark!! Yeap, pretty much agree with everything you just said. Chivo is unstoppable, he should probably take a short break, but he’s probably already onto his next project!
      I found that on Twitter haha! It’s really cool isn’t it, Leo deserves it after ALL he has done.

      Like

  9. Satua says:

    Great post! I disagree on Stallone vs. Rylance thing as I found the latter stand-out in Bridge of Spies and liked him a lot but otherwise I’m on board with you here with everything else! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hmm fair enough, I can see his appeal. I thought the list wasn’t very good to start with,Carell was better than Bale. Idris Elba,Oscar Isaac and Benicio Del Toro should also be there. Glad you agree! I missed out the Jenny Beaven moment though, I didn’t pay attention to the distasteful silence and disgust when she won. It was really hypocritical and shallow don’t you think?

      Like

  10. Abe Vigoda, Geoffrey Lewis, and Martin Milner were left out of the In Memoriam, that’s just wrong

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I haven’t heard of them sorry! I also missed talking about the Jenny Beaven moment which was really really mean of Hollywood.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Geoffrey was the father of Juliette Lewis, he was in many movies going back to the early ’70’s. Vigoda was mainly known for TV show Barney Miller, but was in a number of movies including The Godfather. Milner was mainly a TV actor, but was also in Sweet Smell of Success, one of my favorites

        Liked by 1 person

  11. That Leo gif is everything. And that Sly snub? Left me speechless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

