Zootopia: Welcome to the urban jungle

Zootopia’s poster somehow foreshadowed a frightening possibility that it could follow in the footsteps of Madagascar, which would render it a failure no doubt. There were some serious pre-conceived notions and worries I had before entering the cinema, some of it as a result of my distaste towards really bad animal animated films and utterly generic posters. Animation that feature animals which aspire to be nothing more than exploit inherently ‘cute’ or ‘goofy’ archetypes in certain animals are quite frankly asinine; A for Awful, atrocious and alliteralΒ mess (pun intended). Instead of being a flop, Zootopia came as a big surprise to me as it comes out flying with visual delight and thematic insight. I’d go one step further to say that Zootopia has most likely proven me wrong again that Inside Out couldn’t be beat in terms of commercial and critical appeal. And that says alot.

There’s something about a great animated movie that gets you all jittery and smiley. Zootopia had me transfixed the whole time while, conversely, Kung Fu Panda 3 had me sleeping halfway and waking up in bouts, desperately grasping onto full consciousness. Boo. I’m starting to wonder if charisma of characters is what makes or breaks it. Zootopia introduces us to a cute little bunny, Judy Hopps, who recites idealistic lines for her school play about being able to do whatever you want in zootopia – No less a play(HA pun!) on the word ‘Utopia’ (wordplay!). Ok seriously I got to stop this :0

Clearly, Officer Rhino here is not impressed with the puns. Yup, I should stop here, don’t wanna mess with the big guy.

Anyhow, she manages to graduate from her Police Academy and pursue her dreams in Zootopia where she meets a fox in the first of future encounters. This is where the film really gets interesting because many of the film’s themes start to develop quite explicitly. Fox is the more realistic one because of his vastly different outlook and upbringing. As different as these two characters may be, there are equally endearing and charming, which speaks alot about the craft behind the film. Because even as there’s an obvious dichotomy (more so for younger viewers), we do not necessarily side with either of these characters too much to dilute the experience. After all, there’s more at stake out there which will be revealed as you watch the movie.

Fans of a particular mafia classic will relish the scenes where the film pays tribute to an iconic scene which even retains most of the original dialogue. Don’t sleep with the fishes, you won’t want to miss this part. Even so, it feels a little random but I personally don’t have a problem with it. All other parts of this film hit the perfect notes. It’s interesting to see how Zootopia develops an idea from start to finish. One aspect was how it somewhat satirizes fear mongering in modern society and how fear can really begin to fester and engender lasting and unsavoury perceptions. Nature and nurture feature very heavily in the film’s underbelly, springing itself from all corners of the film and ultimately hits hard at our very core. Zootopia’s charismatic duo of idealist Hopps (Ginnifer Goodwin) and Nick Wilde (Jason Bateman) form an unforgettable team which connects beyond their initial fracas. I think it’s a triumph here that even as discrimination looms large over society’s satire model Zootopia, there’s more than enough room to explore the clever title wordplay of Utopia;Β Idealistic limitations and realistic distortions fleshed out between the main character’s interactions.

I’m trying my best to keep away from the plot here mainly because I know most of you have already heard great things about it and are intending to watch if you haven’t already done so. If you’ve seen this amazing film, feel free to discuss about how you felt about it in the comments. There were many many hilarious moments as well, some went overboard which I likey πŸ™‚ I think it’s bold to stick with something all the way. And in essence, that’s what Zootopia is all about. And so much more. Visually striking with eye-popping colours, it seems like that’s sideshow to a nuanced tale of bravery and acceptance. Shakira’s feel-good vibes in the main theme “Try Everything” may be a song about fighting on but it somehow feels emotionally resonant in almost all situations. It becomes an anthem not just for overcoming obstacles but more importantly, overcoming perceptions.

Rating: 9/10 Best movie of the year so far!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. I took my two young-uns to see it, and overall, we all liked it. It’s being compared, however, to the greatest animated movies of all time, and I just didn’t get that much out of it. I’d much rather watch Frozen again than Zootopia.

    Again, though, I did enjoy the movie, and my two year old mostly sat still.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I see, it seems like you guys had a pretty good time πŸ™‚ I thought frozen was a little contrived and I enjoyed this so much. Have you seen Inside Out and Anomalisa (R-rated haha)? Both are fantastic but Anomalisa’s my favourite.

      Like

      1. I have not seen either. I’ve never even heard of Anomalisa.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Check them out, they’re totally worth your time!

        Like

  2. Keith says:

    Haven’t been that excited to see this one but this really sparks my interest. My daughter is desperate to see it so that may be a good excuse!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I hope I didn’t spoil it for you, I tried including only the minor details. That’s good haha, the whole family’s excited :)) Looking forward to your review.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds good. I saw Kung Fu Panda 3 recently and it’s just OK. I’m looking for a fun new animation, this sounds like it could be it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Gogo watch it !! Let me know what you think!

      Like

  4. smilingldsgirl says:

    It’s my favorite of year so far as well. What a sweet, funny, beautiful film. I love how it had messages for kids and humor for the adults and loved the world of Zootopia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      WOO! Glad to have you with me on that. I haven’t seen cloverfield and the witch which I feel could usurp the throne lol, but anyhow, zootopia exceeded my expectations by a mile.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. erinb9 says:

    Oooh, great review and I’ll have to check it out! Having a couple little kids means I watch a crazy amount of kid movies, so it’s nice when they’re actually good enough to entertain me too. Onto Zootopia… because one more Lallopsie show may mean gouging out my eyes, lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yes please do!! Good for you because animation is really starting to get more experimental and mature while still maintaining it’s original purpose. I love the fact that it appeals to both the young ones and the adults. Check out Anomalisa too, but that’s strictly R21 LOL. But you won’t regret it, if anything, it’s my favourite animated film ever and ranked in my top 10 movies of last year. I’m so excited to hear what you think, make sure the kids have gone to bed first hahaha πŸ˜‚

      Like

  6. John Charet says:

    Great review πŸ™‚ Sorry, I have been on this site lately I have just been so busy πŸ™‚ Anyway, I have not seen Zootopia yet so I can not comment. How much do you want to bet though that when the first trailer of the film was released, they compared the look of the fox character to the one George Clooney voiced in Fantastic Mr. Fox? πŸ™‚ Anyway, keep up the great work as always πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      It’s alright! Don’t be sorry for that, we all get caught up with things πŸ™‚ Yeah it’s funny because it’s only after that that I realized how similar they were. Hmm, perhaps the fox grew up to become fantastic mr.fox, I’m sure fanfics are already working on it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mark Hobin says:

    Love this film too. Best movie of the year so far, perhaps, but how much competition has there really been? There’s Eye in the Sky though. That’s pretty incredible as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I haven’t seen Eye in the sky, the witch nor 10 cloverfield which are all really exciting. I’ve tried my best to steer away from these reviews as I haven’t seen them. Such a bummer the witch isn’t releasing in my country 😦

      Like

  8. Raney Simmon says:

    Haven’t seen it just yet, but definitely plan on checking it out. I also don’t know if I’ve told you, but I have finally seen Inside Out. I meant to mention it as soon as I watched it, but just didn’t happen. It was pretty good, very interesting to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yup, it’s a really mature movie and very bold as well. Happy Early Easter Raney :))

      Like

      1. Raney Simmon says:

        Thank you. Happy Early Easter to you too Jia. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

