Liebster Award!!

LIEBSTER AWAR 😀

But first, I have to thank Alicja from ReelRedReviews for nominating me for my second Liebster Award. Thanks Alicja, you’re awesome 🙂 Her reviews are just so insightful and enjoyable so go check out her site if you haven’t already! I’m so touched because I’m receiving this award from a fellow movie lover who’s just as, if not more, enthusiastic about film than anyone out there. An art, an escape, a satire and an enjoyment, this is why continue to do what I do on this blog. This means alot to me, aw man I feel all warm and fuzzy now. Alicja you ROCK!

 

 

I decided to let my creative juices run with this one given how stoked I was, so I created my own version of the liebster award badge, what do you think?

The Liebster Award is an online award for bloggers to gain more support, recognition and just to get to know the person behind the blogger. It also helps others to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world.

 

How does the Liebster Award Work? Here are the rules:

  • Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you
  • Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award but more importantly help to promote newer bloggers with fewer followers.
  • Let the bloggers know you nominated them
  • Give them 11 questions of your own

 

I have to say it was super fun 🙂 doing all the questions, thanks again for the wonderful treat Alicja! I was supposed to do this a while back, but well it’s finally here!

 

1.What is your favorite movie from 2015?

Room.What a brilliant film. And I recommend it to anyone who hasn’t seen it. Wonderful, heartwarming and complex, how can anyone not fall in love with this movie about the bonds between a mother and her son? Tangerine and Ex Machina are a close second and third respectively.

2.What are your most anticipated movies for this year?

This one is a very exciting question hehe 🙂 Every year I tell myself that ok, this year was so great so next year’s probably going to be a drought. I’m consistently wrong. But I’m happy to be wrong. There’s so many I’m looking forward to seeing and some in particular get me more excited than ever. Why? Let’s start off with the fact that my THREE favourite directors (YES ALL THREE, with the exception of David Fincher) are all releasing a movie this year.

-Nicolas Winding Refn (director of Drive) is releasing The Neon Demon. Winding Refn’s Drive hooked me from start to finish and is probably my favourite film ever. Neo-noir, hypermodern drama is kind of his thing, and his pictures are always so vivid and vibrant. He’s partially colour blind which explains the high saturation but damn, his films are gorgeous. Judging by the posters, this has the feels of Mulholland Drive…which would mean I’m even more stoked about this ❤

Damien Chazelle, director of the electrical Whiplash, is releasing a musical (WHAT A MUSICAL?!?!) named La La Land(stars Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling). It sounds totally out of whack for someone who did something so serious with his indie hit, but that’s also why I’m mighty interested in what he can do with a musical, let’s hope that this hits the tempo 😉

And lastly, Denis Villenueve, director of psychological thrillers Enemy, Sicario and Prisoners, is probably the greatest tension builder in all of cinema today. He is the master of creating unnervingly disturbing and unsettling pictures so it’s only natural that his upcoming science fiction film Story of Your Life (Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker) is very intriguing. The pretext to the story is that a language expert and some scientists have to assess if aliens approaching come in war or peace. It seems like my favourite directors are taking somewhat odd choices, but I can’t wait to see what they’ve got!

 

 

3.Biggest Disappointment (movie or TV show) from 2015?

Hmm, a tough question. I don’t watch alot of tv series other than HIMYM, House Of Cards and Gotham. Revenge ended early last year I think and I liked it alot despite some calling it a soap opera for housewives. I would have to say I was quite disappointed with Carol just because of all the hype building up to something of a artpiece…I can’t count how many countless still frames I had to endure. Having said that, it wasn’t my worst reviewed movie (6/10)…but it disappointed the most because of the expectation. Insurgent and Maze Runner: Scorch Trials were rock bottom. One was so lacking in depth and the latter is best described as torrid, pitch black, blurry, unecessarily jarring and a pain to watch.

4.What celebrity do you think you’d get along really well with – who could be your best

friend?

Maybe Bruno Mars? Or its just that my inner fan is refusing to read the question for what it is and instead interpreting it as ‘Who I wish was my best friend’…still in denial LOL. But yeah, I think Bruno’s really chill so I’m kinda like him in that regard. We could sip some mojitos together in the beach, rocking to the beat of ‘Moonshine jungle’.

5.Do you have a celebrity lookalike? If not, is there a celebrity you’ve always imagined

yourself being like?

Nah, I don’t think I have a celeb look-alike, I wish I had! Yes, well not really, but I imagined I was Indy before, leaping around the house when I was really young, avoiding said boogey traps (which I devised by myself). Ah, those were the good ol days. Indiana Jones shaped my childhood 🙂 I imagined I was Chris Tucker in Rush Hour too, trying to act all gangsta and often mimicking his accents in school whenever I could use one of his phrases like ‘Git your hands of me’ or ‘My daddy kick your daddy’s ass all the way up to China…or Japan or The Great Wall or wherever the hell you from!’ Awww I love Rush Hour 😀 They sure don’t make buddy cop movies like that no more.

 

6.Do you have a travel bucket list? What are the top three places you’d like to visit?

Not at the moment. But I do have places I want to visit and they’re wherever I can see the Northern Lights, Bahamas and New York City 🙂

7.Name your ideal comfort meal.

Hmm, Mac and Cheese! Even though I don’t eat it alot, I can’t imagine anything else on a rainy day and I’m feeling so down. This one warms my heart.

8.If you could choose any epic movie death, which way would you go?

I’d die fighting.

9.Which fictional town (or school, like Hogwarts) would you choose to live in?

Hogwarts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No doubts about that, I was enchanted by it ever since I first laid eyes on a Harry Potter book. There’s something so magical about something like that,

10.What’s the first movie you remember seeing?

This post has so much feels. Indiana Jones is the first movie I remember seeing and it was so awesome 🙂 The adventure was enough to captivate the young kid in me.

11.How long have you been blogging for, and why did you start?

I started in November 2014 so that’s about 1 year and 5 months that I’ve been blogging. It started after I watched Gone Girl. I don’t know, I had this strong urge to pen down my thoughts on it because I thought it was a really complex film, it had hit me in some way. I guess you could say Gone Girl and subsequently Nightcrawler, were the movies which sparked my desire to write movie reviews. I’ve never turned back since. I always liked movies ever since I was young. The awe was something that overwhelmed me, got me in jitters sometimes and I’d often vicariously live through the character’s stories. So I want to give my honest opinions on them and write something worthwhile for films that touch me. But most of all, I get to share them with people who love movies as well and make friendships through blogging which makes this something really meaningful for me.

 

Alright, here are my questions for the people who I’m nominating for the award.

  1. What is your favourite hobby other than blogging(if it already is)? And why do you love it so much?
  2. What are your top 3 movies of all time? And your worst 3?
  3. If you had a chance to rewind life to any point in your life, would you? If yes, then to which point in your life? If no, why not?
  4. Name your most anticipated 2016 movies?
  5. Recall your favourite childhood memory or a particular instance where you felt overjoyed?
  6. If you could be any character from any movie/tv series/book, who would you be? And why?
  7. Would you rather lead a safe, conventional and routine life or a life bound only by your own rules? Why?
  8. What are the collectibles (e.g. posters, toys, figurines, plushies etc)/ objects do you have and are most proud of? It could be movie/book related or anything really.
  9. Walking in the park or walking in the city?
  10. If you could be fluent in one other language, what would it be?
  11. Why did you start blogging?

And my Ocean’s Eleven are…

I’ve had the pleasure of reading these fine blogs, so please check them out because they’re fantastic 🙂

17 Comments Add yours

  1. katelon says:

    Congratulations! Loved reading your answers.

    Wow…Emma and Ryan together again, what fun. And how fun for Ryan, the sing and dance man to get to do a lot of it! And Gone Girl and Nightcrawler…..they were two intense movies. I was so surprised that Night Crawler didn’t get more attention. Jake was so good in that film and for me, it represented so powerfully the tragedy and toxicity of our reality TV show/celebrity obsession.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      He was my pick for best actor for 2014. How he didn’t even get a nom is beyond me. Ooh yeah, I can’t wait to see them though the fact that Chazelle directing it kinda surprises me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendell says:

    Congrats! By the way, Gone Girl and Nightcrawler are great movies to be inspired by.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Glad you loved them! They really made an impact on me, imagine if I hadn’t seen them, this blog might not even have existed HAHA

      Like

  3. Keith says:

    Fun answers! And some really good looking movies for 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yay! Indeed they are…I haven’t even mentioned BFG, Birth of a nation, Manchester by the sea (smth like that lol), etc etc

      Like

  4. John Charet says:

    I see that I have been nominated for a Liebster award 🙂 Thanks that means a lot 🙂 I wish I knew how to put together these type of things that award new blog discoveries, but I embarrassingly do not know how yet 😦 Anyway, did you want me to post the answers in this reply or on my site? Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Nono haha, you get to do your own post 🙂 It’s simple, just answer the questions and of course you can introduce yourself too. Np! You’re posts are a joy to read😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on your nomination and thank you again for mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. John Charet says:

    I just posted a new blog entry on my site regarding the 11 questions you wanted all of the nominees (including me) to answer 🙂 Feel free to read them and keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aww, your comments at the beginning melted my heart and made my day!! And I love your answers – Gone Girl? Made me geek SO hard, such a fantastic movie. Happy (almost) year and a half of blogging! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Nah, you deserve it ❤ Hehe, Gone Girl is awesome!!! Thanks. I hope you continue blogging as well! How’s life anyways?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Apart from the fact that finals are next week, life is great! How about you?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Pretty good! Just doing whatever I can to make the best use of my time while doing national service. 10 more months!! What finals?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. A bunch of different communication courses and Spanish. But that’s cool, time will fly by!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

