My random weekend! Of hornbills, milkshakes and other things!

Hey guys 🙂 I’m back with another RANDOM weekend post! Enough of this every weekend and it won’t be random anymore LOL. Still, I’d like to continue with this kind of off-the-rails post where I just post anything I want to. From the sky to the ground, from what I experienced, ate, saw, raved etc etc, anything and EVERYTHING goes…as long as its on a weekend. I love the spontaneity 🙂

 

Behold. The Rock melon spice milkshake 🙂 (It actually looks more orangey than in the picture)

rock melon smoothie.jpg

I wanted to make my usual favourite Avocado milkshake. But I realized I didn’t have any avocados so I decided to be little more adventurous. Found a whole honeydew and ideas were set in motion. If you wanna sweet and little cinnomony (is that even a word?) drink, here’s what I used:

What you need- *trying to sound fancy like those recipes you find online*

  • 1/4 of a whole Rock Melon/Cantaloupe
  • 3 large ice cubes (depends on how cold/frosty/viscuous you want your milkshake to be)
  • 200ml-300ml of fresh milk
  • 4-5 dashes of cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 1-2 tablespoons of maple syrup

Serves 2-3. It’s not perfect yet, but I’d say its pretty good. Adjust ingredients to suit your taste. Should probably use more rock melon

 

 

Just today, I spotted a pair of Oriental pied hornbill‘s flying around the trees near my house. My only regret was not having a better zoom lens but I’m so going to get one because it appears they have nested! Hopefully I’ll get better pics for ya’ll to see because these birds are just so beautiful. I thought they were toucans at first, but these ones have an extra casque which is that protruding thing above their beak. Toucans do not have that. Still, I was completely in awe watching these cute critters hop from branch to branch, trying to break open a fruit/nut occasionally.

P.S. I made a trip to the apartments on the other side of the fence to get closer but all I got was fly stings all over my leg. And I didn’t get very good pictures. But the bites didn’t matter one bit. I kid you not. A monitor lizard that was about 5-6 metres beside me quickly scurried away when it knew of my presence. A MONITOR LIZARD DAMN. I wasn’t as scared as I was shocked. It lives here?!? Next time someone wants to go to the zoo, I’ll tell them you got the real shi* right here. Ain’t no ordinary house lizard or pedestrian bird…These are ORIENTAL PIED HORNBILL’s AND FREAKING MONITOR LIZARDS WTF.

Anyway, before I knew it the birds flew to the other side again, so I had to run (Literally run) back to my side and snap these.

IMG_4467.JPG
Giving me the rear view 😛

IMG_4469.JPG

 

In other news, I’m not watching the Roland Garros final. For a tennis lover, that says alot. My three favourites Federer, Nadal and Wawrinka aren’t in the final. So meh, whatever. It will be the first-time win in Paris for either of the players, so that’s pretty sweet.

It’s Djokovic vs Murray. I know there’s quite alot of British bloggers here…but I diss Murray the most. I’m with Roger here. #Meh

Since I don’t have a videos for the weekend post, I’m just gonna include some over here 🙂

This is what I thought I saw today haha. You’d be surprised by how affectionate these birds can be. Contrary to popular belief, dogs might not be man’s best friend no more. The toucan is probably one of the most affectionate pets out there. It’s weird given how birds tend to not like cuddling, but most pet Toucans do 🙂 You have to have a pretty huge aviary/enclosure with alot of time dedicated to re-stocking food(they can be quite picky) and having activities for these birds to entertain themselves. Oh and never leave any small objects around the house because unlike parrots, Toucans can’t distinguish between what’s edible and what’s not. So be careful people!

 

And to end this post off, I’ll do my recent thing where I include a video, either clip or trailer, of a movie that most mainstream audiences would have missed. Last week’s post I included a 7 minute opening of Under The Skin, the art-house sci-fi expose featuring Scarlett Johansson. This time it’s Enemy, featuring one of my favourite actors and directors ever, Jake Gyllenhaal and Denis Villeneuve respectively. If you like your movies dark and unsettling, if you relish the psychological, then I highly recommend Enemy. Even if you aren’t into this sort of thing, there are people who come out surprised by how much they like it. And when you’ve seen it already, feel free to discuss your thoughts on my SPOILER HEAVY review where I discuss various interpretations…So…brave soul, are you ready to take on the challenge?

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. katelon says:

    I saw that movie quite awhile ago and loved it…..but by the end was still confused :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yeah it did that to me as well, I was mostly confused by the spiders 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. katelon says:

        I can’t remember the spiders. I’ll have to watch it again. Don’t know that I’ll figure it out then either 🙂

        Like

  2. emmakwall says:

    A lovely glimpse into your world! You could run your own milkshake stand!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      My milkshake bring all the girls to the yard?

      Like

Leave a Reply

