Videos for the weekend

Hey everyone πŸ™‚ How was your weekend?! For my weekend videos post, I have a little something for everyone. I personally found the first video very informative. It you’re interested in exploring what makes some quirky and quixotic films so good, here’s a breakdown of different styles that only the bravest pioneers of film-making have dared to embrace.

There’s a little brain teaser by TED under it’s logic/math riddles that I found interesting…I didn’t solve it but some of you who are into this kind of thing might! Give it a try πŸ™‚

*cue bond theme* For the third video I included the opening 4 minutes of Spectre. I love the Day Of The Dead festivity, and all the haunting air of tension and suspense. Spectre isn’t my favourite Bond film, but it has easily my favourite opening scene of any Bond movie.

And lastly, this one goes out to those who haven’t seen 2014’s Best Picture winner Birdman. I don’t exactly love it, but it has grown on me a little more with a second viewing. The whole movie’s shot to look as if it has only one-take (no cuts to another scene), it’s basically like one tracking shot throughout the film. Michael Keaton is fantastic playing a washed out actor who deals with his career’s nadir, a battle with relevance and a conflicted ego. I hope the clip will eventually get you to watch the whole movie πŸ™‚ Highly recommended πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Sam Morton says:

    Great picks man πŸ™‚ I love these Cinefix lists!! within the space of a 10-15 minute video i leave with hundreds of new films to check out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      They’re so informative, I really learn alot from their vids πŸ™‚ How are you btw? And how’s your film coming along?

      Like

  2. katelon says:

    Wow, I’ve not heard of most of those films in that top ten rule breaker video.

    I loved “Birdman”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I myself when started watching birdman, I felt that it was somewhat real…..Alejandro has portrayed a masterpiece with Michael Keaton….As he played Batman earlier, so i was able to connect with the character very easily…..looked like the script was just made for him…..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Charet says:

    Great post πŸ™‚ People were in awe of Birdman I think because of the fact that the whole film was shot with a steadicam with no cuts. However, it is not the first film to do that. Russian Ark beat the film by a decade earlier. Prior to the invention of the steadicam, Alfred Hitchcock shot his 1948 film Rope as one continuous long take (with some cheats involved). Anyway, keep up the great work as always πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

