Most anticipated films of 2016

With the year almost half gone, we enter really serious waters in the world of cinema. Films that mean business will push for late releases to catch the Oscar buzz while every corner from October to early 2017 will be littered with a host of awesome films. The season of blockbusters has passed; This is the real deal folks. If you’re like me and can’t wait to see all the goodies that 2016 has in store…Then Christmas came early 🙂 From Martin Scorsese to Nicolas Refn…from Alicia Vikander to Amy Adams…from a drama with Liam Neeson, Andrew Garfield, Adam Driver and Benicio Del Toro to an animated musical with Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon, Seth McFarlane, Taron Egerton, Scarlett Johansson…I give you the rundown for this year’s most anticipated releases.

  • The Neon Demon ; Elle Fanning, Keanu Reeves, Christina Hendricks

One of my most anticipated films of the year. Nicolas Winding Refn’s Drive is possibly my favourite movie ever, and I expect he’s going to experiment alot with his new film as well. Bold contrasts and bloody violence,  nefarious intentions and dangerous beauty, The Neon Demon already sounds so wickedly good.

  • Birth Of A Nation ; Nate Parker, Armie Hammer, Mark Boone Jr

This film won the Sundance award for best movie. It’s about Nat Turner who led a slave Rebellion. I’m hoping it has a different style from 12 years a slave. I’m quite hyped for this.

  • Story Of Your Life ; Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, Forest Whitaker

Denis Villeneuve is my favourite director right now. With Prisoners, Enemy and Sicario, he knows just what strings to pull when creating psychological tension. Inventive and super creative, I’m hoping he and the trio of great actors can pull off something special.

  • Nocturnal Animals ; Jake Gyllenhaal, Amy Adams, Isla Fisher

I truly have no idea what this movie’s about but the cast is good?! Gyllenhaal’s my favourite working actor and Amy Adams is just awesome. It helps that the title is so eye-catching.

  • The BFG dir. Steven Spielberg

Spielberg adapting a Roald Dahl book. I WANT. AND A GIANT MARK RYLANCEEE!

  • The Founder ; Michael Keaton, Laura Dern, Nick Offerman

This guy…Michael Keaton is just smashing it. I loved Laura Dern in Wild so I’m getting a few jitters from this. From Batman to Birdman to Spotlight journalist to Ray Kroc, I truly believe that when life gives Michael Keaton lemons, he can make burgers.

 

  • Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk ; Kristen Stewart, Chris Tucker, Garett Hedlund, Vin Diesel

I’ve heard of this one about 2 years ago when looking up to see when Ang Lee was going to do his next film. Ang Lee has always been an inspiration for me given that he’s one of the few asians, if any, to make it in Hollywood. Brokeback Mountain and Life Of Pi define his work and I’m really so excited to see what he has in store with this one. Part comedy, part war drama, I’m interested to see how it’s different from the usual pro-war or anti-war movie.

  • La La Land ; Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone

Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling star in this musical by one of the most talented director’s today, Damien Chazelle. He’s the guy who made Whiplash, a film jazzy as hell and fired-up as electricity. Let’s see  how he’ll handle a musical 🙂

  • Manchester By The Sea ; Kyle Chandler, Chris Moore

A drama about family and grief; One of this year’s Sundance breakout-hits 🙂 Count me in.

  • Silence ; Liam Neeson, Andrew Garfield, Adam Driver, Benicio Del Toro

A Japanese tale directed by none other than Marty himself. Liam Neeson’s in as well. That’s all I need for convincing.

  • The Light Between Oceans ; Michael Fassbender, Alicia Vikander, Rachel Weisz

A family drama with star couple Michael Fassbender and Alicia Vikander. The trailer looks so touching so I can imagine the movie’s gonna be one intense emotional ride. I love Vikander in Ex Machina and I hope she smashes this role.

       

  • Zookeeper’s Wife ; Jessica Chastain, Daniel Bruhl

Jessica Chastain cuddling a little piggie is just…It just made my day and my tomorrow and my whole of next week as well. It’s a story set during war…AND FARMS AND ANIMALS ❤ Animal lovers and historical-drama fans, this one is for you.

  • Personal Shopper ; Kristen Stewart, Sigrid Boauziz

The title looked really mundane at first and it sounded like some basic-bitc* film about shopping and celebs. But I was so wrong. Kristen Stewart stars in this psychological thriller who works as a fashion assistant for celebs. The interesting thing is that she sees ghosts as well. This film won Olivier Assayas Best Director at the recent Cannes festival, so I’m both excited and perplexed by how the film is weaving in layers of meaning and complexity with it’s rather odd storyline. If you’re game for the peculiar and intriguing, be sure to watch out for this.

  • Sing ; Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon, Seth McFarlane, Taron Egerton, Scarlett Johansson

An animation musical with all these fine people above. Need I say more? If you aren’t looking forward to this, I have no words.

However these films turn out, 2016 for film is significant in at least a few ways. Films that seem almost un-adaptable are being tackled head-on by the most creative minds. Michael Keaton cements his rise, with a lead or ‘almost-lead’ role since 2014; Birdman, Spotlight and now The Founder. The former two movies have won it’s year’s Best Picture award. Kristen Stewart’s resurgence is real. Bouncing back from being a twilight joke, she’s become the first American actress to win France’s most prestigious acting award, the Cesar Award for 2014’s Clouds Of Sils Maria. And now, she’s in Woody Allen’s Cafe Society, Ang Lee’s Billy Lynn’s Long-Halftime Walk and the Cannes-winning film Personal Shopper. Haters don’t cry, but if you do, she’ll rise up from your tears like a phoenix. And finally, Amy Adams is a girl on fire. With Nocturnal Animals and Story Of Your Life, she’s definitely one of the hottest talents still. Well then, what movies are you looking forward to?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. ruth says:

    Hey there J! Great post, there are a few I haven’t even heard of for some reason (SING) but wow what a cast! I just saw the trailer for ‘Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk’ and was immediately intrigued when I saw Ang Lee directing! Part comedy, part war drama? Even more curious now.

    I’m not as enthusiastic about BFG which I’m gonna see next week. Neon Demon looks slick but not sure I’m into Refn’s style to be honest, never been interested in seeing his films (too violent). But Neon Demon might be the first movie I’m at least slightly intrigued by, so maybe I’ll rent it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bloggeray says:

    Great post! I am awaiting quite a few of them myself and it is obviously good to know about the others too. Like you, I’m happy for Kristen Stewart and Michael Keaton. Good to see that they’re finally in the spotlight for the right reasons. Should he get a nomination this year too, it’d be the 3rd consecutive one. What a comeback! Looking forward to October. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Vern says:

    Neon Demon and La La Land are ones Im excited about. Will people be calling Scorsese’s Silence as another whitewashing of a Japanese story, I wonder .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Charet says:

    Great post 🙂 The ones with the most potential for me look like they could be The Story of Your Life and The BFG, but that one The Founder looks interesting especially when you take into account that McDonalds is on the poster 🙂 That image of Jessica Chastain holding a piggy looks cute 🙂 Whenever I think of pigs, I can’t help but think of Babe and its sequel 🙂 And yes I love them both 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hey John!! Sorry this reply is so late, I’ve only now gone back to my posts to reply to everyone’s comments.
      They all look so good right?!! Babe and the sequel? I have to check them out. Thanks friend 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

