Critter Spotlight; The hornbills in my neighbourhood

Hi all πŸ™‚ Something interesting happened just after my game of tennis on a hot late afternoon. Remember I snapped a couple of photos of these hornbills a few weeks back? Well, just as I was cooling down after an exhausting tennis game, I heard from not too far away…the distinctive cackle and call of the birds. I kid you not. I ran to the side and BAM…there they were. I saw one hopping around, then I saw the branches of another tree waver and bob up and down. Hornbill number two. And as if they were having their little secret meetup (or so they thought), another one flew to join them. Three. Four. Five. Five hornbills in one sighting.

Now that’s incredible.

Apparently they’re pretty rare where I’m from which makes it all the more special. But it’s really not about that at all. They’re magnificent creatures and I just love how they try to find spots to hide in trees to avoid being seen hehe. They hop around looking for “safe” and secluded places trying to get comfy. But I persevered. To my surprise, they didn’t fly away immediately. They would have definitely noticed my presence because I got really close to them…instead of fleeing away from the unknown two-legged homosapien…they actually stayed around,looking curiously over the shoulders to see what’s up.

I’m really happy I got to so close to see them in all their beauty πŸ™‚

hornbill 1.jpg
Two buddies just havng a chill time
hornbill 2.jpg
Such a cutie…perhaps she’s posing for the camera as well
IMG_4595.JPG
The beauty in flight
IMG_4598.JPG
Mmmm, this red fruit is delicious.

IMG_4610

IMG_4612
Who’s this nosey fella snapping pictures of us? Hmm, let’s see what this human is up to. Fun fact: The one on the left has a little brownish spot on his lower beak so he’s a male while the one on the right does not so she’s a female.

Hope you liked the pics!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. ngfayeng says:

    You’re so lucky to be able to witness them!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. jwforeva says:

      Very lucky indeed. I think they’ve developed a liking for my neighbourhood coz I see them come every once in a while and hang around lol! It’s probably the fruit/nut trees and the dense canopies

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Keith says:

    Great pics. Needless to say I have never seen one of those in Arkansas! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Haha! Thanks! I’m sure ya’ll get other beautiful creatures right?

      Like

      1. Keith says:

        Welllllll…maybe a few. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. emmakwall says:

    Gorgeous photos! And how amazing you saw them like that, incredible! πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      They’re really such cuties πŸ™‚ I had to run from spot to spot to keep up with them,and surprisingly, they allowed me to get really super close to them. Lovely birds.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emmakwall says:

        Aww how lovely! Birds are usually quite skittish too aren’t they (well they are here) so really nice they allowed you to get close for some great shots!

        I almost can see them discussing it among them “hey he seems like a nice guy, let him take some photos of us!” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        They really are! Think I’ve started developing a liking for birds after these encounters πŸ™‚
        Hehe that’s super cute. What can I say, birds just know a nice guy when they see one haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

