The Purge: Election Year review

Hiya guys! I haven’t done a review in a while but I’m getting back into the rhythm again. Here’s my review of the new Purge movie. So I thought The Purge:Election Year was an interesting choice for me since I haven’t seen the previous two films but got a sense of what the movies were about. In light of the ongoing US Elections, which to be honest has been a stranger-than-fiction kind of affair, The Purge postures itself as tiny bit of dystopia grounded in some kind of…shall we call it ‘founding’ truth? Consider the increase in uprisings and protests. Consider how drugs like marijuana have been legalized in order to reduce the need to trade illegally and all the socio-economic benefits used to justify the case. And think about how ‘we’ll build a wall’ is the defining catchphrase of 2016’s Reublican presidential nominee, a reality no less brought about by the angst against the ‘establishment’. Could there really be something that The Purge is tapping into…some sort of repression that could have the potential to turn into an uncontrolled maniacal fervour?

I knew what I was getting myself into. The Purge isn’t good at all. In fact, it’s toxic. This is the kind of entertainment that remains solely in CAPITAL AND BOLD, ‘SOLELY FOR ENTERTAINMENT‘. Though it might raise interesting issues that comes about in flickers, this is exactly the kind of film that perpetuates the violence and moral perversion shown on screen. But perhaps more disgusting than all the degeneracy of the people is how the film has to show so much of the collective corruption of the human soul in order to bring about what little good there is left in living hell. This can mean one of only two things. One; The film strongly believes we humans are so fuc*ked up that we’re quite literally screwed. Two; It uses this sort of depraved psychosis to satisfy the sensationalist streaks in its audience because hey, if we can’t do this in real life, then I’d at least wanna get some of this on screen. I believe its the second reason and it makes The Purge quite a distasteful film.

I won’t be a hypocrite myself and dump all this crap on the film and people who enjoyed it. There were times where the tension got pretty high and a few scenes got me hooked. But I was genuinely concerned about the good guys in the film more than anything. Therein lies the trap. It makes it easy to forget what The Purge is actually about. It isn’t about the good guys, or the senator who has good intentions or the average hard-working joe who just wants to work and live in peace. This is about the mass hysteria that the movie so naturally boxes us in. One scene where a group of teens try to take revenge on a guy’s store for being told off when trying to shoplift the other day is just so disgusting I don’t even know whether to be disgusted or angry…or laugh because it’s so ludicrious.

In the end, the film reliably uses pain, suffering and loss to almost offset and balance its glorifying parade of violence. What’s worse is that The Purge uses all this death and depravity as catharsis, reinforcing the very idea the film is perpetuating; That only with death and suffering and pain on screen can we, the audience, be somehow more enlightened. But don’t think too much of it. It’s probably just asking you to sit back and enjoy; Which is worse.

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. emmakwall says:

    Sounds a little bit unsavoury……and the scene with the shop keeper sounds upsetting! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      So much ew. Definitely one of the worst movies I’ve seen this year.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emmakwall says:

        I don’t mind gore etc but I don’t like unpleasantness / bullying and things like that 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Yeah I was just thinking to myself how this review might upset people who love a good bloodfest or horror. But I realized it’s not like that. At least with horror, there’s nothing malicious about the movie (despite all the malicious spirits LOL)
        This one is mad, bad, and dangerous. The way it tries fuel the violent streak s and psychotic pleasures in the audience…and how normal society is portrayed in the film…its just up to no good.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. emmakwall says:

        It actually sounds quite upsetting and I hate things like that! 😦 I’d genuinely rather watch some faceless person in a torture trap than watch a shopkeeper nastily bullied by people, some things just…effect you more don’t they.

        I still have to watch this though Jia! I need to see for myself lol. Just call me my own worst enemy hee hee!

        Like

  2. Keith says:

    I had so many problems with this thing. You touch on a lot of the issues I wrote about when reviewing it. It is distasteful. It’s hypocritical. It’s ridiculously heavy-handed. It’s reckless. I won’t rehash my entire review but I’m with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hey Keith!! Woo! I’m glad we’re on the same team. This one was outright trash. Yes very very hypocritical. I’ll check your reviews out in a sec!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Matt says:

    The preview did look demented. I think I would find the whole franchise upsetting.

    Like

  4. katelon says:

    The reason for “the wall” that Trump puts forth is racism, pure and simple. He is targeting those US citizens who truly believe that if we just got rid of everyone who wasn’t white, wasn’t a so called Christian, heterosexual, etc. we’d finally have a good country again….and keeping women is up for grabs, but only keeping them as sex objects, forget about their health, well being or any children born from them.

    Those dark elite who have been running this world, put out these kinds of movies to keep people angry, in fear and supporting separatism, us vs. them thinking. These kind of movies feed their need to keep us in fear so they can keep control.

    Thanks for seeing through the hype 🙂

    Like

  5. After seeing the 1st two.. which in all honesty..the 1st one had a good premise but just not done all that well but after that..they’ve just ground it down and down..and down.. to where I didn’t even bother to go to the screening of this one..I know what happens..plus if we get Trump as a Pres. here..I’ve a feeling it’s going to be one big Purge in this country.. *sigh

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

