My favourite movie scenes (Spoiler alert)

So here it is! As promised, here are a few of my favourite movie scenes. There’s just so many great ones of there so I’m sure I missed out a few. Some were nice but didn’t make it because it just didn’t hit hard enough for me. I wanted to keep my list short, so these were the scenes that immediately popped up in my mind when I thought of favourite scenes. I want to know what you think of my list! And more importantly…what your favourite scenes are!

Heath Ledger’s Joker performance is truly above the rest. He makes the character so nuanced and engaging, charismatic and sympathetic. Joker makes us see the two men as freaks in their own way and then elevates them both to a level above the fallen world. Contrary to what the joker character represents, Ledger makes his character accessible.And that makes Joker all the more scarier. Because we’re being forced to confront ourselves with his logic that is, at times, very true.

The opening scene in Midnight In Paris is too beautiful to describe in words. There’s the rain, the lights, the atmosphere and everything. It immediately struck a chord in my mind.

Javier Bardem’s acting in No Country For Old Men is so psychotically brilliant that it’s just plain agonizing and humourous at the same time. A harmless conversation in a gas-stop is turned on its head to become a game of fate. The stakes have never been higher. In this unusually intense scene, No Country For Old Men’s themes of fate,chance and the nilhilistic way the world works is at full force here.

Tangerine is a little known indie gem about the hustle of the transgender community. The film is shot on an iphone 5s, has impressive colour schemes and editing, features fantastic acting from both its transgender leads and packs in emotion in a way that’s bittersweet and hard-hitting. This scene doesn’t exactly spoil much but it would be more powerful when you watch it in the film itself. No words.

Melancholia’s opening sequence is one of a kind. It just sticks in your mind. Lars Von Trier’s sci-fi art-house drama about the end of the world is less about external forces than it is about the psychology of a pair of sisters (one of whom is about to be married). Kirsten Dunst plays her role perfectly, and evokes a sense of realism in Von Trier’s study of depression.

Don’t watch this if you haven’t seen the movie. It’s the end of Pulp Fiction – A scene that pretty much summarizes the essence of the film. Mostly a comedic-dramatic film, Pulp Fiction subverts the humour and finds serious and reflective undertones in a world of crime and self-interest.

Birdman may be touted as one of the most self-glorifying films ever and I can’t help but feel like it really is at times. Still, I thought the movies was really unique. Shot with a one-take style (with no cuts), Michael Keaton stars as an actor who struggles with ego and relevancy. Tchaikovsky’s music perfectly complements the ethereal feel you get from this scene as Riggan is truly in a world of his own,fed by his own sense of self worth, however misplaced it might be.

And lastly, the scene in the Elysian Fields floating bar completes my list of favourite scenes in movies. I don’t have the clip for you, but that isn’t that bad anyway coz I don’t wanna spoil this one for you. It’s one of the most powerful movies you’ll see and I love it because it’s both so surreal and real at the same time. There’s a greater message behind the community trying to survive in the midst of a Louisiana flood. Beautiful beautiful movie. Fyi, one of my favourite movies ever and definitely the best movie of 2012. Here’s the soundtrack.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendell says:

    I love all of those scenes. Especially happy to see some love for Beasts of the Southern Wild. I love the hell out of that movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Cool πŸ™‚ Yeah i love that movie to bits,it’s so real I can’t describe it.

      Like

  2. emmakwall says:

    Great selection πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Glad you liked it! How are you Emma? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emmakwall says:

        I’m doing ok thanks Jia! How about you? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Pretty alright :)) I just watched Don’t Breathe which was crazy intense. I think you’d love it!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. emmakwall says:

        Sounds very intriguing! I’ll look it up πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. katelon says:

    Great selection, thanks.!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Woo glad you enjoyed them! How’s everything?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jay says:

    Such a great list. All are good memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      :)) Indeed. Oh I forgot about Kevin Spacey’s American Beauty scene where Angela asks him “How are you?”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

