Weekend post: Driving, dreamwave and the iphone 7.

So basically I passed my driving test yesterday. And I must say I was pretty surprised given that I always made mistakes during practical lessons that would have given me immediate fails. Failing to stop completely at stop-lines, striking kerbs, sometimes going into the wrong lane etc. I also went against my instructors advice of booking a test on a weekday because weekday slots were too far away and ain’t nobody got time for that! So with all this in mind, the odds stacked against me.

Whatever the case, I told myself to not worry about the other stuff. I knew I drove best,albeit with some mistakes still, if I solely focused on the driving. The practice session before the test was the best driving I had ever done. Yeah crazy. My instructor told me I hardly made any errors. If only this had been my test!

So the wait for the actual test had felt even longer. A good drive was hard to come by. I thought replicating my performance earlier would be even harder. And when the time came, it felt like it was over in an instant. I was super nervous about the kerbs and I had managed to not brush against it for the duration of the test. And I didn’t get any demerit points for failing to check blindspots which was one of my weaker points. And miraculously, my instructor chose paths in the circuit that weren’t confusing…so I didn’t run the risk of going into the wrong lane. Turns out…my mistakes came from the little things. And one of them was something I hardly even made before-failing to adjust my mirror immediately after parallel parking!

14 demerit points out of a max 18. I still can’t believe I passed on my first try. I’m still pretty stoked 🙂

No one would mess with this gameface. 0 demerit points for sure.

 

Some of you might have seen me post Timecop1983’s previous album Journeys (I’ll repost it because I think it’s too awesome to miss) in a previous post solely dedicated to dreamwave/synthwave types of music. I fell in love with it after seeing Drive which used it to a great extent. Isn’t funny how I feel nostalgic even if I didn’t have prior experience with the genre? It’s reminiscent of the good old days of 80s synthpop…I was born in 1996. It still feels like there’s a connection…a lost past…a magical feeling. Enjoy 🙂

 

In other news, what do you guys think of the iphone 7? Apple has an event slated for September 7 and I’m having a dilemma over whether I should get it. Before all the rumours came out, I was pretty excited because I have been using my cracked and extremely laggy galaxy s3…I mean press an app wait for 25 seconds type laggy for about 2-3 years now. By now, it’s beaten, worn out and been through some shit – But it has served me well. I’ve always wanted to try an iphone, but leaks have more or less confirmed no headphone jack on the new iphone. The design is roughly the same as the iphone 6 which was 2 gens ago. I like to be able to customize my phone as well but isn’t a huge thing for me. There’s talk of an all-glass iphone (similar to Samsung’s newest iterations) which is going to be the big thing Apple’s saving for their 10th anniversary of the iphone next year. The thing is I don’t like glass backs, it just isn’t nice. I love metallic bodies, I just think they’re so much nicer to feel. Glass sucks 😦

I guess the same design thing doesn’t make much of a diff for me since I’m upgrading from something totally different and plasticky lol. But I don’t know, I’m still having a dilemma. Maybe I’ll get the google pixel phone? What about you guys? What do you think of the iphone 7? And will you upgrade or switch?

Here’s a render of the upcoming iphone 7 in a new colour, space black. It definitely looks stunning. Feels more matte black than space black but whatever, it looks cool. I just don’t know if the new iphone is gonna convince me enough to get it.

 

How was your weekend?

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Satua says:

    I wouldn’t change my iPhone to any other phone anymore. I’m used to it and it’s dear to me (as sad as it is). It’s 6, so I won’t be upgrading, no point of doing that yet, the phone works perfectly and there’s nothing that special in 7 that I would put hundreds to it. 🙂

    Like

  2. bloggeray says:

    Congratulations on the test result. And if I were you, I wouldn’t go for the iPhone 7. More showoff than utility I guess. Plus, customization is fun on android with ROMs like the cyanogen mod.

    Like

  3. Matt says:

    Congratulations on passing the driving test. Driver would be proud.

    Like

Leave a Reply

