My trip to Eastern Europe, part 1

HEY GUYS!! Haven’t seen ya’ll in ages phew. I just checked my last post…23 days ago.Damn. I missed ya’ll and your posts and I’ll get right to them as soon as I can.

This holiday was really awesome. And I already miss it! Coming from a place with little to no history, it was an even greater marvel for me to see each new place’s cultural significance forged through years of peace and war, defeat and triumph, revolution and revolt. Among the places that I went to were Munich, Berlin, Salzberg, Vienna, Budapest, Krakow, Wroclaw and Prague. We even managed to pass through Donovaly in Slovakia en route from Hungary to Poland (and I had the best ribeye I ever had in a ski hilltop restaurant. But more on that later!). There’s just so much to see and I really loved all the local guided tours that really accentuated the experience. From cultural melting pots to mountainous enclaves, if there’s one thing this trip has convinced me of, it is this-I’m definitely moving out to another place; This world has just to much to offer. Life is more fufilling. And there are experiences to be had that Singapore cannot possibly offer. But whatever life takes me, I know one place I will definitely come back to πŸ™‚

This is part 1 of my bomb-ass trip.

 

Munich

Let’s be clear with something, I HATE, FU*KING HATE flying. My ear always pops as altitude changes because my nasal passages are still pretty narrow,and the buildup of mucus despite taking my anti-histamine meds…ok not going to gross this post out any further.Basically, it’s a dread. After the literal hum-drum was over, we were took a train from our hotel in Unterfahrt to Marienplatz (city-centre) and was greeted by this.

DSC00199.JPG

 

The marketplace

DSC00224.JPG

And more

DSC00227.JPG

What the..

Imagine like an endless parade of stores like this.Is parade even the right word?!

DSC00223.JPG

We saw a huge dog along the way. Just hanging around enjoying all the attention he’s getting.Look at these kids, they’ve lost it!

DSC00229.JPG

No trip is complete without a visit to a stadium. Bayern Munich’s luminous Allianz Arena may be known for many great things, home to homegrown legends and acts as a symbol of Bavarian pride, but frankly I was there because Chelsea beat them in the world’s most prestigious stage. 2012’s Champions League Final was all for Bayern Munich. Fans hoisted the words proudly, “OUR COUNTRY,OUR CITY,OUR STADIUM,OUR CUP”

Maybe it’s not so great to play the final in your own stadium after all πŸ˜› But no hate, I respect the club and have nothing against it really. I have to say its one of the most beautiful stadiums ever.

DSC00248.JPG

The view at night.Each plastic panel lights up to create this neon cauldron look.

DSC03892.JPG

The next day we went to the Neuschwanstein Castle and the Saint Mary’s Bridge. The view from the suspension bridge is the real treat. If you’re on a tight schedule and can only take the castle path or the bridge, take the bridge. You won’t regret it.

me river.jpg

DSC00443.JPG

DSC00460.JPG

There’s more to come in part 2 so stay tuned! I’ll be talking about our travels to Salzberg, Halstatt and Vienna πŸ™‚

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. katelon says:

    Glad you had a great trip. Lovely photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks!! It was a wonderful trip in many ways. How are you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. katelon says:

        I’m doing ok. Enjoying the cooler weather.

        Like

  2. Keith says:

    So incredibly jealous. I adore Europe and wish I was closer. So many incredible things to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hey Keith! Don’t we all? :)) There’s so many awesome places, I think it’s gonna give your paris a run for its money haha. How’s everything btw? Doing good?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Keith says:

        Doing fine. Playing movie catch-up here at the end of the year.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Same here. I only just got to see the neon demon πŸ˜› But I’m really excited for alot of films…paterson,american pastoral,moonlight etc…every year seems to get better πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Matt says:

    That’s my dream trip. Glad you had an amazing time. Welcome back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I hope you can take that trip as well! Eastern europe is so gorgeous, but you gotta see it to feel it. Thanks Matt, I have lots of catching up to do clearly! There’s just so many reviews to read!

      Like

  4. Such cool photos JW! Glad you had fun on what sounds like an amazing trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hey Anna! Sorry for the late replies 😦 Yeah I had loads of fun :)) Eastern Europe is such a great place

      Like

  5. vinnieh says:

    I like hearing when people have a cool trip, nice photos too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hi Vinny! Haha thanks! We all have our moments πŸ™‚ This one was so awesome, I love eastern europe. Gotta check out your blog, so much catching up to do

      Liked by 1 person

      1. vinnieh says:

        Looks like an amazing trip. Oh by all means check my blog out, I’ve been very busy watching a lot of stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

