My trip to Eastern Europe, part 3

Budapest, Hungary

I love Budapest. I’m not really sure why I like it so much. I mean, Halstatt was really breath-taking, Vienna was cool but Budapest immediately struck me. And even when I consider places I went after that like Krakow, Berlin and Prague, Budapest stands out as one of my favourite places…I would definitely come back here.

Our local guide, Marie, was super friendly and sweet ๐Ÿ™‚ Not just that, what she said was also really informative and interesting. And yeah, we even had a long conversation about soccer! And she told me that locals (including she) participated in a pillow fight on Hero’s Square to celebrate International Pillow Fight Day ๐Ÿ˜› WHAT! I want in on that!

img_4876

IMG_4864.JPG

Saint Stephen’s Basilica is one of the most beautiful churches I’ve ever seen.

DSC00946.JPG

IMG_4802.JPG

An experimental shot from the cruise on the Danube River. A must-take ride if you’re in Budapest.

IMG_4931.JPG

Some panoramic shots from the Fisherman’s Bastion.

IMG_0225.JPG

IMG_0242.JPG

Huge bunches of blueberries hang from the ledge as we arrived at the Artist’s Village at Szentendre. It’s a dainty little enclave where people basically sell crafts and handmade art/souvenirs/fabric. Some of it was really cool but business seems tough, I didn’t see many buying things from here…but its a real gem. Some might get abit pricey but if you’re into local authentic work and crafts from Hungary that aren’t simply mainstream souvenirs from gift shops…or if you just want a place away from the city to chill, consider an afternoon here. Walk around and who knows, you might discover something you’ve been wanting all along?

My sis bought a nifty little box with an interesting opening and closing mechanism. After that, we spent the rest of the time

DSC01142.JPG

Somebody’s finger is taking offense with this doll. Not like the doll pays any attention to it though.

DSC01173.JPG

DSC01184.JPG

Here’s a nice place we chilled at (lame pun I know) after walking around and taking pics haha. I highly recommend this ice-cream place, the ice-cream is so bomb.

DSC01254.JPG

My sis and I had the raspberry and blueberry respectively. But try out that white one in the far right top corner, I sampled it AFTER my ice cream and kindaย regretted. Not that mine wasn’t good, but the white one was even better. It’s some sort of fruit I can’t identify but its so fragrant, kinda has hints of flowery scents. Real interesting flavour.

DSC01247.JPGDSC01263.JPG

I’m saving my night shots and all my best shots in all the places I went for a special post after I finish covering Krakow, Berlin and Prague. I promise something really good for ya’ll ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you enjoyed this one! For the next post, I cover my afternoon in Donovaly (Slovakia) and my time in Krakow!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful photos JW! I really believe that some cities feel like home as soon as you arrive. It sounds like you might have felt that way about Budapest. I had the same experience in Athens, like I could just move in and never leave!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Yes, though I can say I’d move to any of the cities that I went to ๐Ÿ˜‰ But yeah Budapest felt special, Germany in general as well.

      Like

  2. erinb9 says:

    Wow, just beautiful! I’ve always wanted to check out Budapest. You post will have to do for now, lol ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Haha ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Budapest was one of my favourite places in the whole trip. I just love how its so culturally rich and different from anything experienced back home. Definitely check out the danube river cruise and the artists village…it’s a nice little artsy community which I think you’ll love :))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

