My trip to Eastern Europe, part 4

Donovaly, Slovakia

So after our stay in Hungary, it was time to move to Krakow, Poland. It was a 6 hour journey so we stopped en route in Donovaly, Slovakia. And I can tell you the journey from Budapest to Poland was THE MOST beautiful ‘roadtrip’ I’ve ever seen and probably anywhere. Yes, a bold claim indeed. But I’m confident. A sea of trees line each side of the road. And it’s a cascade of red, orange and yellow. Rows and rows of skinny green trees occassionally line up and stretch on forever. Then there’s the mountains in the background. Added onto that was the fact that we travelled on a rather foggy morning where ahead of us was just fog, and dew lingered on our bus windows, and basked in midair whenever rays of light broke through the surrounding trees. I couldn’t get a nice steady shot, but this probably captures the feel well.

The trip from Poland to Germany was really nice as well, but that’s for another post!

DSC01328.JPG

DSC01424.JPG

IMG_0619.JPG

 

We made a stop in Donovaly (Slovakia) to have lunch and it was the coldest part of the whole trip. We had lunch at this huge restaurant called Donovaly Pivovar. It’s a cosy place with several motel/ski resort joints around. It’s kind of situated on a hilly place and we were pretty high on altitude as well. Everywhere was just fog.

The interior. So much win. I love the modern metal wood and stone mesh architecture. Bikes on the walls. Studio elements. Polar bear and moose’s bust. A real gem.

DSC01457.JPG

DSC01461.JPG

DSC01467.JPG

Oo look what we have here? 🙂

DSC01474.JPG

A cute little critter. We were surprised to find an african grey parrot on the second floor. Oh man my mom, sis and I instantly fell in love. They were too scared to touch it though which is bonkers right?!  I went to pet it slowly at first and it quickly warmed up to me, even lowering its head so I could scratch the top of the head even more. A very cute and affectionate one indeed 🙂 It gives you the look when it’s enjoying your company, you just can’t say no! These are some of the smartest animals alive and it wasn’t shocking that when we left, it said bye-bye to us ;D

The food was beyond good. When I sank my teeth into my rib-eye, I was sold. Best rib-eye I ever had in my life. I’m not even joking. That’s a bomb-ass piece of beef. So fresh and the marbling was just uorghh. OMG.

DSC01487.JPG

My dad had the ribs which were also fantastic. I had a steal at the end when he couldn’t finish :)) MMm

DSC01483.JPG

My mom and sister shared some some sausage dish which was pretty good as well. But man that ribeye was so good. We saw so many farms during our travels from place to place, I’m not surprised if they had their own farm and were able to maintain the freshness of their produce. Too envious haha. P.s. I still can’t get that beef off my mind, it’s that good. And I still miss that parrot 😦 I spent like a good 10-15 minutes just petting its adorable little head and he/she seemed to be enjoying it as much as I did!

 

Krakow, Poland

After 3 hours or so after our lunch, we finally reach Poland.en route.JPG

 

Time to tackle the salt mine! We went to Krakow’s salt mine which is a UNESCO world heritage site.

DSC01541.JPG

DSC01583.JPG

An interesting sight in a salt mine. Workers apparently spent so much time in the mine they built small sancturies and prayer rooms for prayer throughout the day.

IMG_0773.JPG

Stay tuned for more on Krakow and Poland!

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Matt says:

    I love reading travel posts. There’s so much out there I never even would have thought of. I wouldn’t have necessarily thought that the road trip from Poland to Slovakia would be so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Neither did I. It’s crazy how there’s things you plan for and expect on a trip, and get surprised that the experience is something you totally didn’t expect.
      Coming from sg, alot of new things are beautiful because we don’t have them haha 😉

      Like

  2. katelon says:

    Looks like you got there for a beautiful time of year, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Woohoo yeap! Incrdible colours, it’s seeing a wallpaper in front of you, and especially coz I don’t experience the seasons back home, it was hard to believe at first LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. katelon says:

        I love the seasons, too and hope to get to a place to live soon that has seasons.

        Like

  3. Love those gorgeous autumnal colours! I’ve always wanted to visit Krakow. The salt mine sounds fascinating!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Ohhh damn, this is like the first time I actually experience autumn. We experience the same tropics all year round, the colours and cool temperature is such a refreshing and actually enjoyable change. I feel like I’m suited for temperate climates haha, I just feel so much better generally.
      I found the sanctuaries the most interesting part and how some parts of the mine dated back to super long ago to like 18 century…quite crazy huh. It’s called Wieliczka Salt Mine.
      Krakow’s pretty cool, we didn’t get to spend much time there but I enjoyed my stay. There’s still alot to explore and I hope you’ll be able to go there someday and tell me all about it! We also went to Auschwitz but I’ll tell ya all about it in my next post.

      Like

  4. table9mutant says:

    Gorgeous photos! Wow – I need to travel more…. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Thanks Ms.Mutant haha!! It is such a beautiful place, wish I could have stayed there for months lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. erinb9 says:

    Wow, what beautiful pictures! And the food looks so super good. 🙂

    I’ve never been to Eastern Europe, but you post makes me think I should try. So many places, so little time…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

