My most anticipated movies of 2017

It’s always fun to create these lists every year, it’s become a little bit of a ritual for me. There’s always awards season posts where everyone gets in on the hottest movies in town…and then there’s the prep work and anticipation for next year’s most promising crop. And you guys know me. I’m always into the less conventional films…the riskier ones and the more out-of-the-loop pictures. I’m obviously excited for Alien:Covenant and things like Ghost in the shell. But I wanna get real here. This post is going to cover some serious serious films. And the less known releases this year that could very well be on your watchlist too. Fans of Del Toro, Ex Machina, Stephen King and Yorgos Lanthimos (mini-spoiler ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), you might want to read on. So without further ado, these are my most anticipated films of 2017.

Annilhilationย 

dir. by Alex Garland. ย Stars Natalie Portman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Gina Rodriguez.

After making one of my favourite films of 2015 and possibly one of my favourite films of all time, Ex Machina, I’m up for anything Garland is up to. I loved how innovative, haunting and profound it was. Count me in on this.

The Shape Of Water

dir. by Guillermo Del Toro. Stars Michael Shannon

Image result for the shape of water

Not sure what this is about other than it’s a personal horror movie set in the cold war. But Del Toro fans and Michael Shannon fans rejoice! Bring them together, this is gonna be badass.

Dunkirkย 

dir. by Christopher Nolan. Stars Tom Hardy, Cillian Murphy and Mark Rylance.

I don’t like war movies. And I don’t like historical biographies because most of them aren’t afforded the opportunity to get creative. Fiction is always more interesting. Anyhow, since it’s Nolan, I’m pretty excited anyways. With a cast of Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance and Tom Hardy, there’s a number of things to get excited about.

The Killing Of A Sacred Deer

dir. by Yorgos Lanthimos. Stars Nicole Kidmann, Colin Farrell

Image result

I’ve never seen Yorgos Lanthimos’ films The Lobster and Dogtooth, but if you have you’ll definitely know this guy produces some of the most interesting, out-of-the-box kind of movies that have you thinking for a long time. I’m really hyped for this one, more so than the other films mostly because I know there’s going to be no holds barred when it comes to this guy. Moreover, he’s tackling my favourite genre-Psychological thriller. All I know is that this is going to be dark…and the last time I saw Nicole Kidmann this haunting was in Dogville and Eyes Wide Open. SO AMPED.

Blade Runner 2049

dir. by Denis Villeneuve. Stars Ryan Gosling, Harrison Ford

Related image

Denis Villeneuve taking on a actioney-thriller is what I’m all about. I’ve always joked that Villeuve should do a DC film. Behind that joke is a sad truth that 1. He’s probably never doing one AND 2. DC needs someone like him so badly. Anyhow, I’m happy that he’s taking on another franchise and hopefully, can bring his signature high-tension style and ambiguity to wow long-time fans of Blade Runner. For me, it’ll be just another awesome Villeneuve film.

The Beguiled

dir. by Sofia Coppola. Stars Nicole Kidmann, Elle Fanning, Kirsten Dunst, Colin Farrell

Image result for the beguiled 2017

There’s alot of talk about this and I suspect it’s because the trailer is pretty sick. I’m not watching though, I’ll stave off trailers of films that I’m really hyped for just because I don’t want the slightest of spoilers. Looks and sounds pretty cool I’ll admit.

The Dark Tower

dir. by Nikolaj Arcel. Stars Idris Elba, Matthew McConaughey

Image result

I’ve been a big fan of Idris Elba ever since Beasts Of No Nation and Hollywood doesn’t give him enough credit for his work.That’s a fact. I’m naturally excited for him to be starring in a Stephen King adapted film. Matthew McConaughey is always good, so let’s hope this is one of his better film choices as compared to his recent movies which have been pretty bad.

I’m missing out alot on the indie and independent scene, so if you guys know of any that you’re excited for, please leave a comment! I might do a part two once I get a hold of more movies that interest me ๐Ÿ™‚ ย What do you think of the list? And what are your most anticipated releases?! ๐Ÿ™‚

15 Comments Add yours

  1. filmandtv101 says:

    Looks like we’re excited for some of the same films this year! The Beguiled is one of my top most anticipated ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s some really promising stuff this year. I haven’t seen the trailer for Beguiled though I’m not sure if I can contain my excitement lol! What other films are you hyped abt?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. filmandtv101 says:

        The Hitman’s Bodyguard is a lighter film I’m looking forward to. I think the pairing of Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L Jackson will be brilliant! Baby Driver definitely looks like it will be the action blockbuster of the summer, and Atomic Blonde with Charlize Theron and James McAvoy will surely be wonderful?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. dbmoviesblog says:

    I am most looking forward to Blade Runner, the Beguiled and Dunkirk, I think all of them are going to be amazing! I haven’t even heard of Annihilation, but Portman’s film choices can be so hit or miss sometimes, it is hard to say.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      I’m a big Portman fan and a big Alex Garland fan coz I absolutely love Ex Machina. I hope they’ll be as good as we’d like them to be ๐Ÿ™‚ What I’m most interested in are the indie films which would surface once Cannes arrives

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jade says:

    We share a number of anticipated films! I have seen the original The Beguiled, but am interested in Sofia Coppola’s take. I am especially excited for The Dark Tower as a fan of the books.

    Then there’s Dunkirk, Prevenge, Baby Driver, and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing… the list goes on! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Haha noice! Oh there has already an original Beguiled? Was it good! I haven’t read Stephen King, but I know how good his books are and I’m excited to see Idris Elba ๐Ÿ™‚
      Prevenge sounds wicked ๐Ÿ™‚ HAHAH the trailer for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing is hilarious ๐Ÿ˜‚ Omg thanks for the heads up, I’ll definitely be watching out for that

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jade says:

        The original Beguiled is decent, nothing too striking. But I think Sofia Coppola’s version would be more layered, and her female perspective will be interesting for sure! You should give the Dark Tower books a shot. It’s longggg, but worth every second of your time. ๐Ÿ˜€ And yes for Three Billboards! Have you seen In Bruges by the same director? That one is in my top 10, always. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jwforeva says:

        Yeah for sure. I take a long-ass time to read novels haha but I’ll keep that in mind. Nope, I’ll have to watch that too! Top 10? Must be pretty awesome then!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jay says:

    Thanks, I kind of needed a refresher.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Haha your welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ I too am kinda jaded with all the justice league, pirates and furious 8 stuff ๐Ÿ˜› I know you attend a few festivals here and there (which is so awesome), are there any promising indie movies coming out this year?

      Like

  5. These all look great! I hadn’t heard of The Shape of Water, but anything with del Toro and Shannon sounds like an amazing combination to me!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hahah I knew you’d like that one ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah its like you can never have too much of a good thing right ๐Ÿ™‚ I personally am hyped for Annilhilation.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. falcon760 says:

    Dunkirk or Blade Runner could be my favorite, What if they’re really bad?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Could be but I doubt so. Dunkirk is most certainly a feel-good kind of war thriller whilst Blade runner is in the very good hands of villeneuve. We’ll just have to see ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

