My trip to Eastern Europe, part 5

Krakow, Poland.

I didn’t have any pictures from the concentration camp we visited prior to this day, it just didn’t feel right to me. But I will talk about it, and if you do get the chance to come to Eastern Europe and Poland, try making a trip down to Auschwitz. Our tour guide for that day accompanied us to Auschwitz and she tried her best to stay calm but I couldn’t help but notice her struggling to maintain her composure. I guess the atrocities of WWII still strikes deep in the polish pysche and definitely remains an indelible part of human history.

We didn’t make it to the rooms with the hair of the jews because we didn’t have enough time plus the fact that, at the same time, a group of officials were visiting the room and so no one else was allowed inside with them. It didn’t bother me at all, but some of the people in our group kinda bitched about not being able to see the hair to our tour guide and persistently voiced their frustrations. It didn’t help that she got quite emotional and apologized to us on our way back. I really felt bad for her. The most ironic thing was the ones who didn’t press her on not being able to visit the room were the ones(me included) who consoled her and told her, “it’s alright, we don’t blame you.” and thanked her. The ones who pressed her about it, in turn, remained silent. Quite a dick move. I managed to steal a moment with her to tell her how thankful I was for her guide and information throughout the day, I hoped Β I made her feel a little better at least.

Aushwitz was really grim but also very impactful. I’m not sure if it’s cathartic but it’s something that affects us all, even if we weren’t remotely affected by the holocaust. I agree with Maya’s point that this could have happened to anyone, and because it has happened, we as fellow humans are affected by it and must understand the cruelties so that we don’t slip into the depths of inhumanity again. Aushwitz will stick out of any trip because it isn’t enjoyable but I implore you to visit it because it is also the most important.

The next part of my trip…still at Krakow. Wawel Cathedral. Former Polish president Lech Kaczynski who died in a plane crash in 2010, is buried beneath next to Frederic Chopin.

DSC01709.JPG

A bed of yellow leaves might actually look better than a bed of roses. I know…I’m deprived of seasons so anything I say about the seasons seems crazy. But hey, you have to agree that this is beautiful. I’VE ONLY SEEN AUTUMN TWICE. I THINK!

DSC01757.JPG

Was scoping around for an interesting shot with no success…rain all over. Gloomy late morning. Then I chanced upon this cute mother-and-son tag-team πŸ™‚ So thoughtful of them to feed the pigeons especially on this damp and cold morning.

DSC01771.JPG

A restaurant with an underground cave. Oh this isn’t the only one I went during my trip πŸ˜‰ If anyone’s interested, it’s an Italian restaurant named Restauracja Wentzl, Da Pietro Restauracja. Prices were actually reasonable and cheaper than some of the other establishments. But the cave….it’s all about that cave. So if you’re in the medieval main square, why choose any other place?!DSC01810.JPG

DSC01797.JPG

Wroclaw

Fun fact. W is pronouced as a V in polish. So it’s Vraclov. Yeah, beats me…polish is apprently a super hard language to learn.And if you speak russian, you might have an easier time. And if you find yourself in an awkward pause in the middle of a conversation with a polish, always talk about the weather…preferably complain about it πŸ˜‰ That’ll make you new friends like finding vodka in Poland.

DSC02015.JPG

Being cheeky

DSC02079.JPG

DSC02130.JPG

A dwarf’s perspective on life…ruminating, thinking, reflecting as the world around him passes by in a whirl.

DSC02160.JPG

This is something I noticed while moving from city to city. Whether it’s vienna or budapest, wroclaw or prague…there was always a guy who would be making bubbles. He’d hold up these two long sticks with a soapy thread in-between, and hoist it to make these huge bubbles. Three kids over there look like they’re in wonderland! And one teen over here excitedly snapping away. No shame! You’re never too old for this shit!

DSC02172.JPG

DSC02187.JPG

Fun fact no.2. According to Maya, Polish people have only one hot meal a day. They usually have a heavy and filling lunch and only eat sandwiches for dinner. Polish food and clothes, generally everything, is alot cheaper than in other places. You’d really be surprised.

Poland left an impression on me in many ways. Having their borders constantly shifting throughout history, with multiple sides taking bits and pieces of Poland for themselves, these displacements would seem to made them more wary and cautious of foreigners. Yet, in my limited experience with the Polish, it seems like they’re pretty nice people. They’ve always been eager to help us and were always friendly. So I leave Poland with happy memories and would definitely come back. But for now, do widzenia!

Next post will be on Berlin!

DSC02237.JPG

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. katelon says:

    Great photos and post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keith says:

    Absolutely LOVE that you shared these. Talk about a ton of history there (some very bad). I would love to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hope you do some day Keith! It’s an unforgettable trip, I got to see so many places and even got to interact with the locals. Life is so much bigger than we can imagine.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. emmakwall says:

    Oh my gosh you HAVE been doing some really fun stuff!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jwforeva says:

      Hehe πŸ™‚ Eastern Europe is loads of fun if you’re into scenery but who isn’t right? I love it so much, I’m having dreams of living there πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

